True Value Solar

8 170-180 Rooks Rd
Vermont, VIC 3133

Customer Reviews for True Value Solar, 99 reviews

1 Reviews
0 Compliments
500 Points
 (5/5)
9th September 2014 12:51 pm
"I can only speak highly of this company. I had a 1.5k system installed by TVS several years ago, back in the days when this was still relatively new for home owners. All seemed good at the time, but I soon realized that the initial install was done by cowboys!. Inverter not weatherproof, but installed on outside wall. It died first heavy rain we had. However, TVS had tech out to replace it within days of my phone call. A couple of years later the replacement inverter lost it's display. It still worked ok though. TVS had a contractor out within a few weeks to check it out. Seems like the whole system was not installed to regulations. The contractor re-wired and re-mounted the panels, installing isolation switches, new inverter. All costs met by TVS. So probably 5 years after install, they sorted everything out, never questioned me or tried to get out of obligations. This to me is a testoment of good customer service! I have now chosen to get my systen upgraded, adding another 3k to my existing 1.5k. TVS again have got my job. Will see how it goes. I have nominated my preferred installer, which they have agreed to."

By deanp5 - 60% Trust 16th September 2014 8:46 pm

"Less than 2 weeks from when I paid my deposit, my additional 3k system installed and running. Very neat install, by the contractors that I asked for. I could not believe how quickly this all happened. Thank you TVS"

 
5 Reviews
1 Compliments
705 Points
 (2/5)
3rd February 2014 7:45 pm
"Sought out True Value Solar as a recommended company to have a 5kw Solar Polar System installed and didn't receive any return call to organise an inquiry; quote; installation. Went with another great competitor who did a great job. "

By markh40 - 100% Trust 4th February 2014 8:14 pm

"These guys are not very reliable, I discovered that early."

 
4 Reviews
2 Compliments
800 Points
 (1/5)
12th December 2013 12:48 pm
"DO NOT under any circumstances expect that your warranty will be worth anything or expect that this company will rectify a problem. It has taken 3 weeks for this company NOT to call me. They advise they will call you within 3 weeks .....just to arrange a date some time in the future for a technician to attend to the problem. "Australia's leading and most respected solar provider".......my arse!"

By Business Owner 13th December 2013 9:05 am

"Hi timr16, We regret to hear you are unhappy with the warranty turnaround times. We will look into it immediately if you could kindly contact customercare@truevaluesolar.com.au with your full name and T Reference Number (please use the subject line “Public Forum Query”), and we will have a team member contact you as soon as possible to discuss. Kind regards, True Value Solar "

By timr16 - 90% Trust 13th December 2013 9:13 am

"Email sent and awaiting a reply."

 
7 Reviews
1 Compliments
700 Points
 (1/5)
7th December 2013 7:24 am
"True Value Solar review: http://truevaluesolarreview.com/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7qa6TVkoI0

Signed up in late August. Contractors installed solar system on Wednesday 27th November.

Panels were not one of two brands the sales person stated in an email would be used, (ranked 112th compared to a ranking of 3rd in a German study) but that is the least of my concerns.

What started as an exciting project for me has quickly turned into a nightmare. I wish I had never considered going with True Value solar.



Roof truss or rafter?

I went into the roof space on the 3rd December to have a look at the workmanship and noticed one of the fastening bolts/screws had caused a split along almost the entire rafter/truss length. Cause: no pre-drilling* before driving in fasteners with a "rattler" power tool

http://oi39.tinypic.com/4uxt8x.jpg

http://oi39.tinypic.com/kb4vgl.jpg

http://oi42.tinypic.com/281r8lt.jpg

http://oi39.tinypic.com/257p341.jpg



On the same truss/rafter, it appears the installer realised the damage caused as that particular truss/rafter is the only one where a fastener wasn't screwed in further along the length, probably knew doing so would cause the entire rafter/truss to collapse.

http://oi43.tinypic.com/xmv2ic.jpg

----

* Quick research revealed that hardwood is supposed to be predrilled and 5cm, not 8cm bolts used as a precaution against cracking.

True Value use their own (non SunLock) tile bracket system, however procedure to fix to rafters would be the same across tile bracket manufacturers to protect from hardwood damage.

From the SunLock manual:

To prevent splitting the timber, pre-drill the screw holes at an inward facing angle.

This is especially important for hardwood rafters.

Tile brackets are supplied as standard with 90 mm timber roofing screws, which supply the required 80 mm embedment in softwood rafters.

For hardwood rafters, the embedment can be reduced to 40 mm (i.e. use at least a 50 mm screw, or longer if you have any packers between the tile bracket and the rafter).



Good article from the the National Federation of Roofing Contractors Limited in the UK on fixing solar panels to timber rafters:

http://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&ved=0CDMQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.labc.uk.com%2FMedia%2FDefault%2Flibrary%2FNEW%2520Guidance%2520Notes%2FNFRC%2520guide%2520to%2520Fixing%2520Solar%2520Panels%2520to%2520Timber%2520Rafters%2520and%2520Battens%2520%28Pitched%2520Roofs%29.pdf&ei=lc6dUpyhB46IkgXT1oD4Bg&usg=AFQjCNFb65hyWTq36XKNjeEl_JoqDMcx8g&sig2=FdTFEmarx7YgoYeN52MMBA&bvm=bv.57155469,d.dGI&ei=lc6dUpyhB46IkgXT1oD4Bg&usg=AFQjCNFb65hyWTq36XKNjeEl_JoqDMcx8g&sig2=FdTFEmarx7YgoYeN52MMBA&bvm=bv.57155469,d.dGI

----

As the trusses/rafters were not predrilled and used the same length fasteners, it's conceivable that more trusses/rafters will crack, ie - if they have been weakened by the fasteners.

I sent True Value Solar photos and an email on the 3rd December to their technicalservices@truevaluesolar.com.au email address and no response from them so far.

However, the contractor didn't turn up or contact me on the 4th December to connect into the mains switchboard as arranged last week.

In addition -

Panels not in alignment:

http://oi39.tinypic.com/2d6qhjb.jpg

Tile brackets not straight:

http://oi43.tinypic.com/2ed1u77.jpg

A true sign of a company is how they deal with issues they have caused. As of the time of submitting this review, True Value themselves have not acknowledged the email I sent, nor started to fix the issues.



Update:

On Friday 6th December the original installer Tony arrived unannounced wishing to commission the system. I attempted to have a discussion about the rafter however Tony was unable to be calm and he stormed off stating he was not going to commission the system. All I want and am entitled to is my roof to be in the same condition it was prior to True Value Solar doing their install.

7th December 2013. Had a different installer and the original offsider (Angus) turn up at 5PM unannounced who wanted to commission the system and fix the rafter with the use of 'no more nails'. Week-end not being convenient, I asked them to come back during the week. Agreed on Monday morning, however after looking at the technical data sheet for no more nails, it states:

"PRECAUTIONS

Not suitable as a structural laminating adhesive or where structural loads are concentrated."

Given TVS contracted installers are apparently electricians, I refer back to my original email to them:

"I would like this rafter replaced at your cost by a qualified builder of your choice to at least the same undamaged condition it was prior to the install, prior to final payment on the install being made."



8th December 2013. Had a look at other rafters and found fastners coming out the side, splitting wood. Found three damaged tiles.

http://oi40.tinypic.com/5yb58o.jpg

http://oi43.tinypic.com/o0dz45.jpg

http://oi41.tinypic.com/1y5swm.jpg

http://oi42.tinypic.com/1zwzw3t.jpg



I'm extremely disappointed that a project that at the outset was exciting has turned into a nightmare, due to incompetence, then a denial of responsibility by Tony the first installer and finally by no response at all or acceptance of responsibility from True Value Solar management, with whom I signed the contract.



9th December 2103. Dear "Business Owner" I have sent numerous emails to your technicalservices@truevaluesolar.com.au system as requested when I phoned. Not one of those emails has even been acknowledged. Your standard "fluffy" response on womo does nothing to get the issues fixed. T118171

Monday morning is now over. No sign of TVS and no call from them.

Turned up at 15:45 with the aim of 'fixing' the truss/rafter however I explained to them that that was not going to occur until I get a response from True Value Solar to my emails.

"

By Business Owner 9th December 2013 9:47 am

"Hi andrewl50, We are disappointed to hear you are unhappy with your solar project. We will look into it immediately if you could kindly contact customercare@truevaluesolar.com.au with your full name and T Reference Number (please use the subject line “Public Forum Query”), and we will have a team member contact you as soon as possible to discuss. Kind regards, True Value Solar "

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (1/5)
27th September 2013 3:03 pm
"My system was installed about 3 years ago and all was good. Now that it's time to service the panels, they cannot seem to get their act together. They cancelled the first appointment and promised me a gift voucher for the inconvenience, and the service was rebooked. I called on the day of the new appointment and was told the appointment wasn't booked properly so no-one was coming. Had to have everything refunded, never received the gift voucher, and now need to go elsewhere for a service."

By babenreviewer - 100% Trust 27th September 2013 4:21 pm

"i'm really sorry to hear that! that must have been so annoying, did you end up hearing from them at the end?"

By Business Owner 2nd October 2013 3:25 pm

"Hi melw6, I contacted our Service Department immediately after seeing your message and I believe our Service and Warranties Manager called you straight away and sorted out a new date for your service on the 11 October and offered you a $149 discount for all your trouble. I hope that you are satisfied with this outcome and that True Value Solar have redeemed themselves in this instance. If you have any further troubles please feel free to call me direct. Ask for Kristina in the Customer Care Department. Regards, Kristina"

 
46 Reviews
18 Compliments
3,000 Points
 (5/5)
23rd August 2013 8:44 am
"We had a solar system installed by this company in june 2013, and decided to upgrade to a larger system. Our system had been generating enough to cover our electricity bill, but with the upgrade, the electricity company will be paying us. CSA"
 
67 Reviews
3 Compliments
6,515 Points
 (4/5)
19th August 2013 9:35 pm
"We got quotes from several different companies and none could match the price that True value could, even referred a friend and they got even a slightly better price. The install was well done and we are very pleased"
 

102 Reviews
100% Trust
13 Compliments
7060 Points
 (2/5)
1st August 2013 7:10 pm
"Had solar power installed at my home and have managed to make a few savings on the power bills. Initially the service and followup was very good, helpful and informative and the installation went without a hitch. Last month True Value offered me a special deal to add more solar panels to my roof but insisted on a contract over the phone. Have asked them four times now for an itemised quote and have received two different quotes for the same product but the actual price is more than $1000 more than it originally cost me to install twice as many panels. My last two enquiries have not been answered. Pretty disappointed with this poor customer service and will now do without the extra panels."

By Business Owner 20th August 2013 11:23 am

"Thank you for taking the time to log feedback regarding your installation with True Value Solar. We’re glad to hear that your initial installation was very good. In relation to your quote for an upgrade of your current system, we’re very sorry to hear that things haven’t gone to plan. If you would like to provide us with your contact details a True Value Solar manager will be in touch to discuss your experience and current quote. Alternatively, if you’d like to contact us on 13 SOLAR (13 76 52) and request a sales manager, we will be more than happy to discuss. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you."

 
3 Reviews
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
17th July 2013 9:46 am
"I really like True Value Solar. The reasons are that when I first contacted them they were real kind and explained to me everything, of course they were trying to sell me a solar system but even after that they were super nice. The solar experts are real handy and did the job efficiently. And I have a warranty if something happens to the solar panels."
 
3 Reviews
2 Compliments
205 Points
 (5/5)
17th July 2013 6:14 am
"Got my solar panels installed last month. The installation went fine and I had no problems whatsoever with them. I paid a fair price for my system. What should I expect?"
 
3 Reviews
1 Compliments
305 Points
 (5/5)
16th July 2013 6:31 am
"I purchased my solar power system a year ago after a friend recommended this solar company. I must say he was absolutely right, they did a phenomenal job and it was well worth the money."
 
3 Reviews
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
15th July 2013 1:28 pm
"I can confirm that True Value Solar are an excellent solar power company. My solar power system was installed last year by them and I have no regrets whatsoever about my decision to go with them."
 
3 Reviews
1 Compliments
505 Points
 (5/5)
15th July 2013 12:38 pm
"After I had my solar panels installed by True Value Solar I realized that I made one of the best decisions in my life. They are such a great company and their prices are super cheap."
 
3 Reviews
1 Compliments
605 Points
 (5/5)
15th July 2013 12:01 pm
"I live in Ballarat and TVS had no trouble coming to my place in a day to check everything, how they'll install the solar system. After brief 4 weeks they came back and installed a beautiful 1.5kw solar system that is functioning perfectly."
 
3 Reviews
1 Compliments
705 Points
 (5/5)
15th July 2013 6:13 am
"Simply an amazing solar power company that does whatever it takes to satisfy their clients. They did the same with me and my 3kw solar power system that is functioning perfect due to their expertise. "
 
20 Reviews
8 Compliments
1,900 Points
 (3/5)
25th June 2013 3:08 pm
"They offer the most competitive price for solar panels. This is why their installation time frame is too long. They are very quick and helpful during the purchase but not very helpful when it comes to after sale service

When i have purchased a 2.0 KW system some how i missed my pre-booked installation date and my installation process get delayed. I tried to rebook the installation date and called them 3/4 times but they could not give me any suitable time. Finally when the Feed in tariff rate reduced from 25c to 8c they wanted me to have my installation done (After 6 months of my initial purchase) , so i cancelled the order and lost my $200 deposit as well.

I understand why i can not get my deposit back because i have cancelled my order after 14 days cool off period. But i am not happy about them is because they could not give me an installation date in 6 months and the feed in tariff rate reduced by this time and discoursed me to a have a solar system with same price but lower feed in tariff .

"
 
3 Reviews
0 Compliments
700 Points
 (1/5)
25th June 2013 2:56 pm
" ### BEWARE, BEWARE, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED ###

True value solar has to have the worst customer care service in the country. Have been calling and e-mailing them for weeks and all I get is we will get someone to call you back. NO ONE EVER CALLS BACKS. This is beyond a joke, we signed up in February 2013, system not even installed yet and all we get is the run around. One has to ask if this is how they threat you before install, what happens if you have a problem after install ??

TVS Ref : T245646.

Update : After a call to the director , customer care found the time to return my call. All good for now, Will update with the install progress. looking forward to having the job done.

Update : It is now OCTOBER .... Still waiting....!!

This has to be the worst company in Australia to deal with.

I have e-mailed, called many times and all I get is empty promises. If this is how you are treated before you even get to installation, how will they deal with any problems after install ???

I am now asking for a refund of my deposit as this is unacceptable. I was promised a call back yesterday, did not happen, I was promised a call back today, did not happen, I told the senior customer care rep if there was no call I was cancelling.

# DON'T GO ANY WHERE NEAR TRUE VALUE SOLAR. BEWARE #

"
 
1 Reviews
3 Compliments
515 Points
 (5/5)
2nd June 2013 10:18 am
"My name is Jim Hutton I live in Gippsland Victoria and I just have had a very positive experience with this company, I wanted a solar system installed to offset our power use as we have recently installed split system air conditioning that we wanted to run as heating for our home over winter. I rang True Value and was given good advise on what system I should look to install to give me the result I was after, I was given a firm quote and then I spent several days checking by ringing around other solar companies what would be the best deal and advise that they could offer to make sure I was making a good investment, I could not find a better price anywhere.

Yesterday the TVS installer arrived on time in the morning and by early afternoon we had our solar system fully installed and this was done on the day I had requested even though I have had to change the install day several times myself at short notice due to being in hospital with a very sick little girl. True Value Solar worked everything out for me to make sure it could be done on the only day I had free, I am so impressed with the professionalism and the great service that I received I had to search the internet to find this site to write this testimonial so others could know about this great company and my experience with them, I can say I am very very happy with the way everything went and the happy positive attitude of the staff at TVS and their professional Installers, I look forward to dealing with them again to add more panels to my upgradeable system as I can afford it. I am pleased to recommend True Value Solar to anyone looking to invest in a solar power system. "
 
3 Reviews
1 Compliments
605 Points
 (5/5)
16th May 2013 11:24 am
"Let's be real, there are a lot of other solar companies that will offer similar solar systems at similar prices. The thing that separates True Value Solar is their customer service plus they are always on time. There is no postponing with them. Great, great company providing you with the best solar power solutions for your needs."
 
4 Reviews
0 Compliments
500 Points
 (5/5)
5th May 2013 4:08 pm
"As there are different regions- I am Reviewing TRUE VALUE SOLAR - BALLARAT. We purchased a 5kw System for my business premises January 2013. The installation, on-time arrival of staff and up-to date information on how things were progressing was totally fantastic. I have no problems highly recommending Mick and the team on a job well done.

This unit generates electricity and as yet still waiting for the electricity provider -RED (no like them) energy - to get me my first bill after the solar installation."
 
You can telephone True Value Solar on 13 76 52
This business has 99 reviews. Click below to show the next page.

1   2   3   4   5   Next