• Find a Business
  • Review a Business
  • Offers
> > > True Value Solar

True Value Solar

"Australia's Largest Solar Company Offering the Guaranteed Lowest Price"
Address:
8 170-180 Rooks Rd
Vermont, VIC 3133

Tel: 13 76...
Email this business
Visit Website

Something incorrect?
This Business is Managed


 

Our Vision: “To deliver our customers ‘True Value’ by providing the highest efficiency solar systems at the best possible price.”

True Value Solar has become Australia’s largest solar specialist through a simple business ethos: buy high quality products in bulk directly from manufacturers and pass these savings on to customers for the guaranteed lowest price. This mantra ensures the quickest return on investment for our customers and has proved to be an extremely popular formula.

True Value Solar has more than 90,000 customers nationally and employ over 150 staff and 120 Government approved subcontractors that carry out solar installations for the company on an exclusive basis.

True Value Solar is part of the M+W Group, a global leader in engineering, construction, project management and advanced technology facilities with a heritage spanning 100 years. M+W is based in Stuttgart Germany with more than 6,000 employees around the globe and annual revenues in excess of €1.8 billion, it has evolved to become a pioneer of the solar industry.

For more information please visit our website:
www.truevaluesolar.com.au

 

3 Easy Steps to Solar

True Value Solar has 3 easy steps to reduce your electricity bill:

1. Phone us for a quotation:
         13SOLAR (13 76 52)
Our solar specialists will find the best system based on:
    - Your budget
    - Your electricity costs
    - Roof space available

2. Place an Order
Everything will be organised over the phone

3. Installation
Our qualified Clean Energy Council approved, A-Grade Electricians will fully install your new solar system


Opening Hours:  M: 8:00am - 9:00pm EST  T: 8:00am - 9:00pm EST  W: 8:00am - 9:00pm EST  T: 8:00am - 9:00pm EST  F: 8:00am - 9:00pm EST  S: 10:00am - 4:00pm EST  S: 10:00am - 3:00pm EST  PHol: 10:00am - 4:00pm EST
Payment Methods:  Mastercard, Visa, Direct Deposit, Cash
 
 

Customer Reviews for True Value Solar (97 reviews)

 
4 Reviews
70% Trust
3 Compliments
215 Points
 (5/5)
12th September 2011 11:36 am - Our Favourite Review
had a 3kW installed on my place in Bendigo. Sales person was great to talk with, and they were considerably cheaper than most that I could find.

I found them because they sponsor the Bendigo Bombers - but when I called it seems they also sponsor Essendon. This sealed the deal for me because I knew I could always email Essendon if they did something wrong. I need not worry though - the process was hassle free. Sales said install would be 6-8 weeks and it was right on 6 weeks, and the system is now ticking over and the output is ramping up toward summer.

Looking forward to the output, the savings and will definitely use these guys again if I move house or upgrade.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
8500

Comments

By gregt6 - 60% Trust 27th July 2013 12:19 pm

You've made my mind up, thanks!

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
2 Reviews
80% Trust
2 Compliments
450 Points
 (1/5)
12th December 2013 12:48 pm
DO NOT under any circumstances expect that your warranty will be worth anything or expect that this company will rectify a problem. It has taken 3 weeks for this company NOT to call me. They advise they will call you within 3 weeks .....just to arrange a date some time in the future for a technician to attend to the problem. "Australia's leading and most respected solar provider".......my arse!

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
$8300

Comments

By Business Owner 13th December 2013 9:05 am

Hi timr16, We regret to hear you are unhappy with the warranty turnaround times. We will look into it immediately if you could kindly contact customercare@truevaluesolar.com.au with your full name and T Reference Number (please use the subject line “Public Forum Query”), and we will have a team member contact you as soon as possible to discuss. Kind regards, True Value Solar

Flag as suspect or inappropriate

By timr16 - 80% Trust 13th December 2013 9:13 am

Email sent and awaiting a reply.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
3 Reviews
80% Trust
1 Compliments
400 Points
 (1/5)
7th December 2013 7:24 am
True Value Solar review: http://truevaluesolarreview.com/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7qa6TVkoI0

Signed up in late August. Contractors installed solar system on Wednesday 27th November.

Panels were not one of two brands the sales person stated in an email would be used, (ranked 112th compared to a ranking of 3rd in a German study) but that is the least of my concerns.

What started as an exciting project for me has quickly turned into a nightmare. I wish I had never considered going with True Value solar.



Roof truss or rafter?

I went into the roof space on the 3rd December to have a look at the workmanship and noticed one of the fastening bolts/screws had caused a split along almost the entire rafter/truss length. Cause: no pre-drilling* before driving in fasteners with a "rattler" power tool

http://oi39.tinypic.com/4uxt8x.jpg

http://oi39.tinypic.com/kb4vgl.jpg

http://oi42.tinypic.com/281r8lt.jpg

http://oi39.tinypic.com/257p341.jpg



On the same truss/rafter, it appears the installer realised the damage caused as that particular truss/rafter is the only one where a fastener wasn't screwed in further along the length, probably knew doing so would cause the entire rafter/truss to collapse.

http://oi43.tinypic.com/xmv2ic.jpg

----

* Quick research revealed that hardwood is supposed to be predrilled and 5cm, not 8cm bolts used as a precaution against cracking.

True Value use their own (non SunLock) tile bracket system, however procedure to fix to rafters would be the same across tile bracket manufacturers to protect from hardwood damage.

From the SunLock manual:

To prevent splitting the timber, pre-drill the screw holes at an inward facing angle.

This is especially important for hardwood rafters.

Tile brackets are supplied as standard with 90 mm timber roofing screws, which supply the required 80 mm embedment in softwood rafters.

For hardwood rafters, the embedment can be reduced to 40 mm (i.e. use at least a 50 mm screw, or longer if you have any packers between the tile bracket and the rafter).



Good article from the the National Federation of Roofing Contractors Limited in the UK on fixing solar panels to timber rafters:

http://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&ved=0CDMQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.labc.uk.com%2FMedia%2FDefault%2Flibrary%2FNEW%2520Guidance%2520Notes%2FNFRC%2520guide%2520to%2520Fixing%2520Solar%2520Panels%2520to%2520Timber%2520Rafters%2520and%2520Battens%2520%28Pitched%2520Roofs%29.pdf&ei=lc6dUpyhB46IkgXT1oD4Bg&usg=AFQjCNFb65hyWTq36XKNjeEl_JoqDMcx8g&sig2=FdTFEmarx7YgoYeN52MMBA&bvm=bv.57155469,d.dGI&ei=lc6dUpyhB46IkgXT1oD4Bg&usg=AFQjCNFb65hyWTq36XKNjeEl_JoqDMcx8g&sig2=FdTFEmarx7YgoYeN52MMBA&bvm=bv.57155469,d.dGI

----

As the trusses/rafters were not predrilled and used the same length fasteners, it's conceivable that more trusses/rafters will crack, ie - if they have been weakened by the fasteners.

I sent True Value Solar photos and an email on the 3rd December to their technicalservices@truevaluesolar.com.au email address and no response from them so far.

However, the contractor didn't turn up or contact me on the 4th December to connect into the mains switchboard as arranged last week.

In addition -

Panels not in alignment:

http://oi39.tinypic.com/2d6qhjb.jpg

Tile brackets not straight:

http://oi43.tinypic.com/2ed1u77.jpg

A true sign of a company is how they deal with issues they have caused. As of the time of submitting this review, True Value themselves have not acknowledged the email I sent, nor started to fix the issues.



Update:

On Friday 6th December the original installer Tony arrived unannounced wishing to commission the system. I attempted to have a discussion about the rafter however Tony was unable to be calm and he stormed off stating he was not going to commission the system. All I want and am entitled to is my roof to be in the same condition it was prior to True Value Solar doing their install.

7th December 2013. Had a different installer and the original offsider (Angus) turn up at 5PM unannounced who wanted to commission the system and fix the rafter with the use of 'no more nails'. Week-end not being convenient, I asked them to come back during the week. Agreed on Monday morning, however after looking at the technical data sheet for no more nails, it states:

"PRECAUTIONS

Not suitable as a structural laminating adhesive or where structural loads are concentrated."

Given TVS contracted installers are apparently electricians, I refer back to my original email to them:

"I would like this rafter replaced at your cost by a qualified builder of your choice to at least the same undamaged condition it was prior to the install, prior to final payment on the install being made."



8th December 2013. Had a look at other rafters and found fastners coming out the side, splitting wood. Found three damaged tiles.

http://oi40.tinypic.com/5yb58o.jpg

http://oi43.tinypic.com/o0dz45.jpg

http://oi41.tinypic.com/1y5swm.jpg

http://oi42.tinypic.com/1zwzw3t.jpg



I'm extremely disappointed that a project that at the outset was exciting has turned into a nightmare, due to incompetence, then a denial of responsibility by Tony the first installer and finally by no response at all or acceptance of responsibility from True Value Solar management, with whom I signed the contract.



9th December 2103. Dear "Business Owner" I have sent numerous emails to your technicalservices@truevaluesolar.com.au system as requested when I phoned. Not one of those emails has even been acknowledged. Your standard "fluffy" response on womo does nothing to get the issues fixed. T118171

Monday morning is now over. No sign of TVS and no call from them.

Turned up at 15:45 with the aim of 'fixing' the truss/rafter however I explained to them that that was not going to occur until I get a response from True Value Solar to my emails.


Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
3566

Comments

By Business Owner 9th December 2013 9:47 am

Hi andrewl50, We are disappointed to hear you are unhappy with your solar project. We will look into it immediately if you could kindly contact customercare@truevaluesolar.com.au with your full name and T Reference Number (please use the subject line “Public Forum Query”), and we will have a team member contact you as soon as possible to discuss. Kind regards, True Value Solar

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
80% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (1/5)
27th September 2013 3:03 pm
My system was installed about 3 years ago and all was good. Now that it's time to service the panels, they cannot seem to get their act together. They cancelled the first appointment and promised me a gift voucher for the inconvenience, and the service was rebooked. I called on the day of the new appointment and was told the appointment wasn't booked properly so no-one was coming. Had to have everything refunded, never received the gift voucher, and now need to go elsewhere for a service.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
300

Comments

By babenreviewer - 100% Trust 27th September 2013 4:21 pm

i'm really sorry to hear that! that must have been so annoying, did you end up hearing from them at the end?

Flag as suspect or inappropriate

By Business Owner 2nd October 2013 3:25 pm

Hi melw6, I contacted our Service Department immediately after seeing your message and I believe our Service and Warranties Manager called you straight away and sorted out a new date for your service on the 11 October and offered you a $149 discount for all your trouble. I hope that you are satisfied with this outcome and that True Value Solar have redeemed themselves in this instance. If you have any further troubles please feel free to call me direct. Ask for Kristina in the Customer Care Department. Regards, Kristina

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
46 Reviews
10% Trust
17 Compliments
3,000 Points
 (5/5)
23rd August 2013 8:44 am
We had a solar system installed by this company in june 2013, and decided to upgrade to a larger system. Our system had been generating enough to cover our electricity bill, but with the upgrade, the electricity company will be paying us. CSA

Quality
Service
Value


 
67 Reviews
100% Trust
3 Compliments
6,515 Points
 (4/5)
19th August 2013 9:35 pm
We got quotes from several different companies and none could match the price that True value could, even referred a friend and they got even a slightly better price. The install was well done and we are very pleased

Quality
Service
Value


 
Anonymous Member
102 Reviews
100% Trust
13 Compliments
7060 Points
 (2/5)
1st August 2013 7:10 pm
Had solar power installed at my home and have managed to make a few savings on the power bills. Initially the service and followup was very good, helpful and informative and the installation went without a hitch. Last month True Value offered me a special deal to add more solar panels to my roof but insisted on a contract over the phone. Have asked them four times now for an itemised quote and have received two different quotes for the same product but the actual price is more than $1000 more than it originally cost me to install twice as many panels. My last two enquiries have not been answered. Pretty disappointed with this poor customer service and will now do without the extra panels.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
2500

Comments

By Business Owner 20th August 2013 11:23 am

Thank you for taking the time to log feedback regarding your installation with True Value Solar. We’re glad to hear that your initial installation was very good. In relation to your quote for an upgrade of your current system, we’re very sorry to hear that things haven’t gone to plan. If you would like to provide us with your contact details a True Value Solar manager will be in touch to discuss your experience and current quote. Alternatively, if you’d like to contact us on 13 SOLAR (13 76 52) and request a sales manager, we will be more than happy to discuss. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
3 Reviews
60% Trust
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
17th July 2013 9:46 am
I really like True Value Solar. The reasons are that when I first contacted them they were real kind and explained to me everything, of course they were trying to sell me a solar system but even after that they were super nice. The solar experts are real handy and did the job efficiently. And I have a warranty if something happens to the solar panels.

Quality
Service
Value


 
3 Reviews
60% Trust
2 Compliments
205 Points
 (5/5)
17th July 2013 6:14 am
Got my solar panels installed last month. The installation went fine and I had no problems whatsoever with them. I paid a fair price for my system. What should I expect?

Quality
Service
Value


 
3 Reviews
60% Trust
1 Compliments
305 Points
 (5/5)
16th July 2013 6:31 am
I purchased my solar power system a year ago after a friend recommended this solar company. I must say he was absolutely right, they did a phenomenal job and it was well worth the money.

Quality
Service
Value


 
3 Reviews
60% Trust
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
15th July 2013 1:28 pm
I can confirm that True Value Solar are an excellent solar power company. My solar power system was installed last year by them and I have no regrets whatsoever about my decision to go with them.

Quality
Service
Value


 
3 Reviews
60% Trust
1 Compliments
505 Points
 (5/5)
15th July 2013 12:38 pm
After I had my solar panels installed by True Value Solar I realized that I made one of the best decisions in my life. They are such a great company and their prices are super cheap.

Quality
Service
Value


 
3 Reviews
60% Trust
1 Compliments
605 Points
 (5/5)
15th July 2013 12:01 pm
I live in Ballarat and TVS had no trouble coming to my place in a day to check everything, how they'll install the solar system. After brief 4 weeks they came back and installed a beautiful 1.5kw solar system that is functioning perfectly.

Quality
Service
Value


 
3 Reviews
60% Trust
1 Compliments
705 Points
 (5/5)
15th July 2013 6:13 am
Simply an amazing solar power company that does whatever it takes to satisfy their clients. They did the same with me and my 3kw solar power system that is functioning perfect due to their expertise.

Quality
Service
Value


 
20 Reviews
100% Trust
8 Compliments
1,900 Points
 (3/5)
25th June 2013 3:08 pm
They offer the most competitive price for solar panels. This is why their installation time frame is too long. They are very quick and helpful during the purchase but not very helpful when it comes to after sale service

When i have purchased a 2.0 KW system some how i missed my pre-booked installation date and my installation process get delayed. I tried to rebook the installation date and called them 3/4 times but they could not give me any suitable time. Finally when the Feed in tariff rate reduced from 25c to 8c they wanted me to have my installation done (After 6 months of my initial purchase) , so i cancelled the order and lost my $200 deposit as well.

I understand why i can not get my deposit back because i have cancelled my order after 14 days cool off period. But i am not happy about them is because they could not give me an installation date in 6 months and the feed in tariff rate reduced by this time and discoursed me to a have a solar system with same price but lower feed in tariff .


Quality
Service
Value


 
3 Reviews
80% Trust
0 Compliments
700 Points
 (1/5)
25th June 2013 2:56 pm
### BEWARE, BEWARE, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED ###

True value solar has to have the worst customer care service in the country. Have been calling and e-mailing them for weeks and all I get is we will get someone to call you back. NO ONE EVER CALLS BACKS. This is beyond a joke, we signed up in February 2013, system not even installed yet and all we get is the run around. One has to ask if this is how they threat you before install, what happens if you have a problem after install ??

TVS Ref : T245646.

Update : After a call to the director , customer care found the time to return my call. All good for now, Will update with the install progress. looking forward to having the job done.

Update : It is now OCTOBER .... Still waiting....!!

This has to be the worst company in Australia to deal with.

I have e-mailed, called many times and all I get is empty promises. If this is how you are treated before you even get to installation, how will they deal with any problems after install ???

I am now asking for a refund of my deposit as this is unacceptable. I was promised a call back yesterday, did not happen, I was promised a call back today, did not happen, I told the senior customer care rep if there was no call I was cancelling.

# DON'T GO ANY WHERE NEAR TRUE VALUE SOLAR. BEWARE #


Quality
Service
Value


 
1 Reviews
80% Trust
3 Compliments
515 Points
 (5/5)
2nd June 2013 10:18 am
My name is Jim Hutton I live in Gippsland Victoria and I just have had a very positive experience with this company, I wanted a solar system installed to offset our power use as we have recently installed split system air conditioning that we wanted to run as heating for our home over winter. I rang True Value and was given good advise on what system I should look to install to give me the result I was after, I was given a firm quote and then I spent several days checking by ringing around other solar companies what would be the best deal and advise that they could offer to make sure I was making a good investment, I could not find a better price anywhere.

Yesterday the TVS installer arrived on time in the morning and by early afternoon we had our solar system fully installed and this was done on the day I had requested even though I have had to change the install day several times myself at short notice due to being in hospital with a very sick little girl. True Value Solar worked everything out for me to make sure it could be done on the only day I had free, I am so impressed with the professionalism and the great service that I received I had to search the internet to find this site to write this testimonial so others could know about this great company and my experience with them, I can say I am very very happy with the way everything went and the happy positive attitude of the staff at TVS and their professional Installers, I look forward to dealing with them again to add more panels to my upgradeable system as I can afford it. I am pleased to recommend True Value Solar to anyone looking to invest in a solar power system.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
4500
 
3 Reviews
60% Trust
1 Compliments
605 Points
 (5/5)
16th May 2013 11:24 am
Let's be real, there are a lot of other solar companies that will offer similar solar systems at similar prices. The thing that separates True Value Solar is their customer service plus they are always on time. There is no postponing with them. Great, great company providing you with the best solar power solutions for your needs.

Quality
Service
Value


 
4 Reviews
70% Trust
0 Compliments
500 Points
 (5/5)
5th May 2013 4:08 pm
As there are different regions- I am Reviewing TRUE VALUE SOLAR - BALLARAT. We purchased a 5kw System for my business premises January 2013. The installation, on-time arrival of staff and up-to date information on how things were progressing was totally fantastic. I have no problems highly recommending Mick and the team on a job well done.

This unit generates electricity and as yet still waiting for the electricity provider -RED (no like them) energy - to get me my first bill after the solar installation.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
10k
 
3 Reviews
80% Trust
4 Compliments
215 Points
 (1/5)
28th April 2013 5:19 pm
April 2013. True Value Solar Installed a faulty unit, even though they knew they had a bad batch. Call Centre staff can give NO assistance and REFUSE to put you thru to a supervisor or manager. They have my $4000 and I have a faulty unit. 4 calls and emails seeking a phone call with some info (like will you fix the unit and when) were not responded to and 2 promised call backs never came. I have to resort to this site to try and get some assistance. Even tried calling the parent company M+W who said they'd get me a call back, but not so far! I lodged a complaint with their dispute resolution email address... and they emailed me they have a commitment to effect warranty claims with 14 business days but there are no units available. Also been told this is subject to availability of parts or contractors. I am a senior manager with a retailer and understand customer service....these guys seem to be specifically set up to handle many complaints and do so by stone-walling you. There is no head office number, no admin number, and the only person you can talk to is the call centre staff who only advise the "standard line". This is insane ! No idea if and when they will address my issue. TRUE VALUE SOLAR PLEASE CALL ME !!!

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
4000

Comments

By tonyv4 - 80% Trust 29th April 2013 1:32 pm

Have tried calling 3 more times...still stone-walled...no call backs despite promises. Does it take legal action?? PLEASE CALL !!

Flag as suspect or inappropriate

By tonyv4 - 80% Trust 2nd May 2013 3:21 pm

Finally got an email reply...half was information that has turnined out to be wrong, other half was standard response times. After several more calls managed to convince someone to put me thru to a warranty persons. They are seeking to sort out the issue but as of now I have No idea when they will replace the unit.... Taking up huge amounts of my time and I am still $4k out of pocket with no working unit.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate

By paulmig48 - 60% Trust 5th May 2013 1:49 am

I always think that reviews like this one are fake. a) Why would you complain publicly if there is a problem? Go call the authorities and b) I have never heard that someone had a faulty unit installed by True Value Solar or any other major solar company

Flag as suspect or inappropriate

By REDMARTINI - 100% Trust 8th May 2013 11:46 am

Wow, what a bad experience! I went through all of the reviews and it seems this company is fantastic if things go smoothly, but not so if a problem arises.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate

By pleasantlysurprised - 60% Trust 9th May 2013 7:13 am

@REDMARTINI, talk after you get burned which I promise you won't with True Value Solar. Even if a problem arises they have great customer support and they will make sure that you will get the help you need.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
80% Trust
0 Compliments
300 Points
 (1/5)
26th April 2013 4:02 pm
We placed an order for 8 panels and inverter in January 2012. After a number of reminder calls, the panels were finally installed at the end of May – almost a year ago. Several calls and emails later, we finally received a Certificate of Electrical Compliance. To date, we are still not connected to the grid after more calls and emails with our provider citing incorrect documentation and dates that indicate that TVS have only reacted when we have pushed – and then not every time . Promises of progress reports and contact have not been kept. We are frustrated beyond description and regret ever responding to the TV ad. Our advice is to avoid True Value Solar like the plague.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
$3000
 
This business has 97 reviews. Click below to show the next page.

1   2   3   4   5   Next

You can contact this business on 13 76 52

What is WOMO?

It's the best way to find out what businesses are really like before you use them.

All reviews are from real customers (we have several ways of checking) so you can find out which businesses care about customers and provide good service.