Doctors & Surgeons > Dandenong Ranges > Ringwood > Seymour Street Medical & Dental Centre

Seymour Street Medical & Dental Centre, Ringwood

Address:
11 Seymour St
Ringwood, VIC 3134

Tel: 03 9955 0...


Customer Reviews for Seymour Street Medical & Dental Centre (25 reviews)

 
88 Reviews
100% Trust
28 Compliments
10,705 Points
 (4/5)
16th May 2013 11:54 pm
having come from another area with a big 24 hour bulk billing medical centre, i was looking for another of the same when i moved to the Ringwood area. I came across the Seymour St Medical Centre from a google search, and tried it out. They bulk bill, the reception staff are courteous, and there is a large waiting area with plenty of seats around. There are a lot of consulting rooms and many different doctors to choose from. There is also a dental section, and a pharmacy located inside the centre, first thing on the left as you walk in the main door. The location is quite good, with Seymour St running parallel to Maroondah highway in the middle of Ringwood. I have seen many doctors there and they're all reasonably good.

Quality
Service
Value



Comments

By sandrar6 - 100% Trust 17th May 2013 11:43 am

Might have to try out this Dental section at Ringwood thanks.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 

Other Recommended Businesses


   6 reviews

"This is a very welcoming centre. Dr Richard Zeng offers a friendly and comforting approach whilst conducting treatments in a highly professional ..."

   5 reviews

"I went to Angel Dental because i found a female dentist i loved. I have always had a phobia of dentals but Hyrim and her assistant Nayalie were s..."

   16 reviews

"Diandra is truly gifted. I often joke to her that I know she real deal as some of things she's predicted no one could make that up. She is lo..."



 

8 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
1,025 Points
 (1/5)
30th October 2012 12:17 pm
The doctor spent 10 minutes telling me how sad she was that an old lady had fainted in the doorway last night. She kept going on about it. Then she said she couldn't read my xrays (my foot may have been broken) and said come back tomorrow. She charged me for nothing!

Quality
Service
Value


 

1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (4/5)
21st May 2012 4:28 pm
I have been here a few times, all but one were fantastic. You don't make an appointment so sometimes the wait can be quite long. One time, different to my other experiences there, the wait was over an hour long. It wasn't critical I see a doctor that night so I just decided to go the next day. I had been first thing in the morning when they open and around 9am and both times I have not had to wait long at all. Usually shorter than my normal doctors where I make an appointment. All doctors I've seen has been fantastic, all were very clear and fluent english speakers and I always felt confident with their diagnosis as they listen!

Quality
Service
Value


 

4 Reviews
90% Trust
0 Compliments
260 Points
 (1/5)
13th March 2012 12:12 pm
I have been to this medical centre a few times. The last doctor i saw (unsure of his name) was unhelpful and felt like he didn't listen. for the last 20years i have been under specialist care for this specific chronic disease. this made me very frustrated.

i also have major back problems, which has suggested i have surgery 3 years ago, and i had an opinion from a doctor (not a specialist) told me around the same time, i may not walk in 5 years. i received a referral to boxhill hospital specialists. the boxhill specialists did not set an appointment date, as they insisted they hadn't received the faxed referral. (i was told my seymour st medical centre that this is not uncommon from boxhill hospital). it has been a process of backwards and forwards, contacting and chasing people up myself for the last 2-3weeks. finally i got through to seymour st medical centre, where a lady was very impatient with my call. i passed on the message that my referral fax was not received at the other end. she couldn't understand what i was talking about. i slowed down my language and tried to tell her for the second time. it didn't seem to worry her, so i asked if i could be called when the fax was re-sent, as confirmation. she said something along the lines of "i have to find the doctor, then i have to find the file, then i have to find someone to fax it... ..[this] will take the whole day". i was very unimpressed, not knowing my history of my back, or the urgency, and not caring to know any other relevent details. i am under the assumption that i probably wont get a call back, it is not on any list of priorities (for her), in which case i will have to make a personal visit!

i should not have had to follow these various jobs, which people are paid to be kept in. the receptionist should have been more understanding, and familiarised with any possible medical urgency a situation like this might have.

the only thing that is good about this medical centre is the fact that they bulk-bill.

i understand not to use their services again, as my health might be at risk and i'm scared for nothing to be done about my health conditions.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
bulkbill
 

1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (5/5)
25th January 2012 9:56 am
I went in on a Wednesday morning at 9 am, was served immediately by a very friendly receptionist. As I went to go take my seat my name was called, in and out within 15 minutes, fantastic service!

Quality
Service
Value


 

1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (4/5)
13th December 2011 11:44 am
javascript:rateImg(4,'overall-rating')

I just went their for my first time, as we have moved to Ringwood recently, and I needed somewhere close that I could be walk to. After I read the reviews, I wasnt so sure coming here. I stood inline for 18 min to check in. This wasnt great, as I am in pain standing. I saw the first Dr available, and I was only siting for 2 min, when I was called. That was great. Dr Kempter was pleasant, and I did not feel like I was being rushed as I have been before at the other Bulk Billing place I have been to. It is much better than the other bulk billing place, and I was impressed after reading the negative feedback. I went on a Tuesday at 11am.

Quality
Service
Value


 
21 Reviews
100% Trust
0 Compliments
500 Points
 (3/5)
9th December 2011 1:36 pm
The wait times are ridiculous most of the time but that's what you get for a bulk billing clinic I suppose. Some of the doctors are good but some are so so (especially the ones that don't speak English very well)- it's luck of the draw really. The reception staff are some of the worst I have seen with NO customer service skills what so ever. I don't like going here at all and avoid it at all costs but it's free and the hours are convenient. If there was another good alternative in the area I would go there for sure.

Quality
Service
Value


 
23 Reviews
100% Trust
2 Compliments
205 Points
 (4/5)
30th August 2011 12:28 pm
Most the Dr's are fantastic, had one really bad one who was rough with my baby wish I remembered his name. Would make sure I didn't get him again. Other Dr's been great. Friendly reception area. Bulk billed. Nice waiting area and chemist inside too. Waiting hasn't been too bad but I ring up first. Also you can go to Eastlands and do your shopping if wait is long.

Quality
Service
Value


 
3 Reviews
60% Trust
2 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
29th August 2011 10:10 am
After waiting for 40 mins at my usual Dr's last week (having made an appointment) I was loathe to go there again within a week. Someone had told me about the Seymour St Clinic so I thought I'd give it ago. My daughter and I both needed an appointment. We walked in at 8am and saw a Dr in around 30 mins. Dr was pleasant and good. Love that you can walk in anytime, works well with a baby who needs regular sleeps.

Quality
Service
Value



Comments

By meganw6 - 60% Trust 1st September 2011 9:31 am

What a fantastic place, went back this morning, no waiting at all and a fantastic Dr Vanderveer to see my 2 girls.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 

1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (4/5)
1st June 2011 7:44 pm
Long wait but worth the wait . Dr Van de Weer Dr Hamilton are fantastic. Definately recommend going there .

Quality
Service
Value


 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
10th May 2011 7:22 pm
I recently moved to Ringwood and found this Medical Centre on WOMOW. I didn't have to make an appointment. I only had to wait a few minutes before seeing a doctor. I didn't have to go elsewhere for Pathology and my condition was diagnosed and treated promptly saving me a lot of unnecessary discomfort. I was also bulk-billed. I highly recommend this clinic based on today's experience.

Quality
Service
Value


 
55 Reviews
100% Trust
5 Compliments
1,710 Points
 (4/5)
18th November 2010 4:06 pm
While the wait here is quite long, they are good doctors who will help you. They only do bulk billing and they are a walk in service - they don't do appointments. A lot of they're testing is also done on site, they have trained nurses who are also very good.

Quality
Service
Value


 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (3/5)
12th October 2010 11:36 pm
Despite the benefits of not needing to book an appointment and being able to be seen provided you are able to wait it is a bit hit and miss with the doctors. Some of them are great, but others are woeful and are only interested in writing out prescriptions, not actually getting to the root of the problem or listening to what you have to say. Dr Boctor and Dr Vandeveer are fantastic but are very popular, and I would suggest steering clear of Dr Robinson - I took my daughter there and I don't feel he examined her adequately, all he did was write a prescription for antibiotics and conclude on a diagnosis all in less than 5 minutes. If you're desperate this is a great place, but if you are after personal care and Dr Boctor or Dr Vandeveer are busy give it a miss.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
Free

Comments

By SusanC4 - 60% Trust 17th October 2010 2:21 pm

You were obviously having a bad day because Dr Robinson is fantastic and highly qualified and regarded.I would not like people to be influenced by only one persons experience.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate

By kim9 - 60% Trust 18th October 2010 8:40 am

While I appreciate your opinion is your own and I don't doubt that he is qualified, what I do doubt is that he cares ... he spent no time with my daughter and diagnosed her with something she didn't have missing what she did have - to me this is not me having a bad day, how can it be? I explained all her symptoms (as I did to another Dr who spent TIME with us and CORRECTLY diagnosed her rather than dishing out UNNECESSARY antibiotics) and he was too busy or uncaring to listen - perhaps he was having a bad day? As a doctor getting paid to look after people’s health, I don't think I'd ever risk seeing him again as he's already made one too many mistakes in my book by messing about with my daughters health – a mother knows her daughter best and when she tells you something is wrong the least you can do is listen. It is totally unacceptable and he seemed quite nonchalant when I tried to address my concerns. This is the behaviour that gives mass bulk billing clinics a bad name.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate

By H.R.H. - 60% Trust 24th December 2010 1:31 pm

Just saw comment about Dr.Robinson from kim9.Dont know who was having a bad day.Suffice to say I have always found him to be very professional,caring & courteous & an excellent doctor to boot.Very sorry to hear about your experience Kim9.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
80% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
28th September 2010 12:05 pm
Looking after a friends daughter who became ill on a Sunday, we received excellent attention and follow up after a reasonable wait. The doctor was very thorough and made us feel at ease. Explained everything so the child could understand.

The following week I was involved in a car accident and again received excellent care. Bulk billed xrays in the same building and then straight back to the doctor for result. Awesome.

They also have a Chemist, physiio and dentist. Plenty of parking also.

I think this is a great facility and will continue to use it when i am unable to get an appointment with my regular doctor.


Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
bulk billed
 
17 Reviews
100% Trust
4 Compliments
220 Points
 (4/5)
18th July 2010 6:01 pm
If you NEED to see a doctor, like i did, and your normal Doctor is full and cant fit you in then this is the place for you! Walk in and take a seat (first in first best dressed) and Bulk Billed. Has everything inside including Dental , Physio, Surgery etc etc. One Stop Shop!

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
FREE
 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
30th June 2010 12:43 pm
A great clinic who bulk bills ( a rare thing these days )

IF you have children the Dr. Rudolf Boctor would be the pick of the bunch for youngsters ( and he is pretty good with Adults too.)

no Appointment Necessary first in first served basis, and you can choose your doctor.

All in all a GREAT clinic.

Quality
Service
Value


 
3 Reviews
80% Trust
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
20th April 2010 1:36 pm
Excellent facility - Dr Van der Veer is brilliant. Although no appointments I have never waited longer than an hour, and they Bulk Bill too! You can request which dr you see, and there are always plenty of doctors available (male and female)

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
nil
 

1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (5/5)
24th March 2010 4:51 pm
extremely friendly, clean and just fantastic!!!! Service with a smile! Great for families with children. LOVE your work! Thank you so much!

Quality
Service
Value


 
2 Reviews
85% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
3rd March 2010 11:09 pm
We go to this clinic as it is bulk bill .. You can see woman doctor or men which is good. For those who need Burmese language, Chines and Arabic they can go to the clinic as they have some Doctors who they speak Arabic or Burmese or Chines.

Quality
Service
Value


 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
9th February 2010 11:55 am
No appointment necessary. They bulk bill. One of the doctors there provide mental health support, this is very rare. As no appointments can be made, I ring first and ask how busy they are and if (or when) my preferred doctor is on duty.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
$0.00
The Good:
No appointment necessary. They bulk bill.
The Bad:
It can get rather busy
 
This business has 25 reviews. Click below to show the next page.

1   2   Next

You can contact this business on 03 9955 0606

Sponsored Links


See other businesses like this that customers recommend.