Dr Peter Tang, Wantirna

262 Mountain Hwy
Wantirna, VIC 3152
Located in Knox Private Hospital consulting suites.

Customer Reviews for Dr Peter Tang, 18 reviews

1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
25th March 2013 9:38 pm
"Dr Tang delivered our daughter in March 2013 and he was fantastic through the whole pregnancy. He also understood our special circumstances as my husband was based interstate. He has a fantastic bedside manner and he ran pretty close to time for appointments. I would highly recommend Dr Tang and would want him to deliver any future children. "
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
3rd December 2012 10:40 am
"After reading th reviews, we approached Dr. Tang for a specialist checkup. We found Dr. Tang to be a very friendly, approachable and down to earth person. He definitely made us feel comfortable and explained the entire procedure in layman's terms. We are very impressed with his services and would recommend him to everyone I know for gynac matters. "
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
15th April 2012 9:29 am
"Just reading the reviews on a wonderful OB after having 3 children through Peter. My first 2 children were twins 2005 and my 3rd 2009, who was also a twin. I personally found Peter fantastic and definitely made me feel important from start to finish. I was admitted into Knox Private several times before the birth of my twins and at some point for a 5 weeks period. Peter came in almost very morning to check on my welfare. I knew my body wasn't equipped to have twins as it was the worst time in my life. At no point did Peter make me feel worse than I was, infact he would say things that would push me through from one day to the next for the better of the babies! Being guided by Peter and most days I was at my worst he always pushed me to get to the end for the health of the babies. It was me that had enough in the end and I actually became unsafe to myself. I begged him for a C/S knowing that at this point the babies we're safe to enter this world. He did try and by a couple more days for a natural birth but I'd come to conclusion it really wasn't healthy for me and they had to come out!! I'd spoken to the amazing nurses in the Risby Ward which also were amazing the whole time and they also agreed it was time. Peter than came back that morning and granted my wish. I don't regret my decision and Peter was not rude, selfish and name calling at any point.

My second pregnancy also being twins, to my horror! I had lost 1 at 11 weeks which was horrible but I must say I felt some relief as my pregnancy was heading down the exact path as first. Peter understood and helped me mentally deal with what I had lost. He was prepared to allow me to try a natural birth until my third grew to almost 10lbs. We then decided to go C/S and i was annoyed for this but had found that Peter had made the best decision as the cord was wrapped twice around the babies neck.

I now have 3 amazing kids, yes at times they are annoying but I honestly know that it hadn't been for Peters guidance with all his ability my experience and results could of been, well I would hate to think. Seeing how my kids are now I am eternity grateful to Peter. Best OB for me and would recommend him to the world as I put him through the mincer. So if your needing someone to keep you safe and your baby/babies he is definitely the one!!!

As for his negative feedback-there is always 1! Perhaps better attitude may of assisted you to a better experience?!? "
 
29 Reviews
2 Compliments
210 Points
 (5/5)
3rd March 2012 12:54 pm
"Dr Tang is a very friendly and cautious obstetrician. My baby was kicking all along and I thought he was a healthy little bundle who was happily growing in my belly despite the fact that my baby was measured small and my fluid was low. Dr Tang insisted on induction at week 37 and regular CTG monitoring at the hospital which at that time I found unnecessary. However, on the induction day, situation turned worse and baby was in distress even though he was still kicking away. I should thank Dr Tang for saving my baby's life. Without him being so cautious and insisting on monitoring, I might not have a baby in my arms now. We all heard about baby died without notice. I couldn't imagine what might happen "if" I wasn't in the hospital that day.... I am not sure if other comments are correct - that he is c section-friendly. But does it matter? We have a healthy bub at the end.... In fact, he did let me go natural - but nobody knows that baby would be in distress! Would go back to him again for my next bub "
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
14th January 2012 12:44 pm
"I had Peter for the birth of my first baby at Mitcham Private, I found Peter to be very caring and down to earth at all my appointments and was great with my hubby also. I had a major complication at 36 weeks that could have resulted in death for the baby and myself, Peter was amazing he is extremely thorough and found the problem straight away, he made me feel calm and safe in such a traumatic time, his follow up after birth was fantastic. I recommend him to everyone I know having a baby and I am looking forward to being under his care when the time comes for number 2!"
 
2 Reviews
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
14th June 2011 12:45 pm
"I saw Peter Tang for the birth of my daughter recently. Throughout the pregnancy he would answer any questions that I, or my husband, had. He was very thorough in his assessments and I always had confidence that I was in good hands. I did not mind whether he made it to the delivery or not, as I always had great confidence in the midwives at Knox, but he was there on the day and popped his head in a few times throughout the labour to see how I was tracking. When it came time to deliver he was there and he was fabulous, he was calm and encouraging and helped make those final few pushes a litttle easier. I also had a student midwife in the room with me, and I can remember him explaining everything to her and allowing her to be a part of the delivery, he was so calm and pleasant with her and I think that tells you alot about a person. Will definitly be returning to him for any future pregnancies."
 

1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
8th November 2010 11:04 am
"I have used Dr Tang for the birth of both my children (July 2008 and July 2010). He was efficient, cautious, and thorough.... exactly what I wanted to ensure the safe arrival of my children into the world. "
 
32 Reviews
2 Compliments
240 Points
 (5/5)
5th October 2010 11:42 am
"I seen Dr Peter Tang last year when I am having my first baby. He is attentive and patient. He will answer any doubt that I have even if I think that I am asking a stupid question. I have been recommending him to my friends and I will continue to do so. "
 
1 Reviews
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
26th June 2010 11:03 am
"I had peter for the birth of my first baby back in Jan 09. He made it to the birth right in the final minutes but i don't think it was necessary for him to have been there any earlier. I experienced tremendous back problems during the pregnancy and he was very caring and attentive and had me admitted for several days as a precaution. I also recall peter coming in to check on me on the weekend! I understand where alot of women say they felt rushed - however he is happy for you to ask lots of questions and will never make you feel bad about that. He just answers them succinctly and always had a satisfactory answer. Will def have him for my second, highly recommended. He will make you feel at ease and that you are in competent hands."

By octoberc - 0% Trust 2nd September 2010 4:50 pm

"I was looking for some feedback as I have had bad experiences with Dr. Tang. He was OK but rushing all the time and not very interested in my concerns or questions. He has a very good reputation but for my it wasn't the case. "

 
175 Reviews
7 Compliments
5,530 Points
 (4/5)
30th July 2009 1:21 pm
"I had Peter for my first baby at Mitcham Private. I found him to be very polite and I agree with most other people that his bedside manner is lovely. He delivered my baby himself and was very attentive through my labour and after my daughter was born.

Most times my appointments were on time or as close too, on the occasions that he was late for my appointment, they were evened out with a couple being early!!

My appointments always felt rushed, although I always left knowing he had answered all my questions."
 
33 Reviews
2 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
20th July 2009 7:46 pm
"I have had Peter Tang for 2 of my pregnancies and births - both elective c/s and have found him lovely to deal with and always happy to answer questions. I found I never waited very long for an appointment and if I had no questions I was in and out of there in five minutes. He was great at the birth and very personable with hubby and came to see me every day following my c/s. He is very c/s happy but most OBs are these days and I trust him - seeing he went to medical school and I didn't! "
 
19 Reviews
9 Compliments
200 Points
 (1/5)
23rd September 2008 9:41 pm
"Peter Tang has two methods of helping mothers birth their babies...he either leaves it to the midwives to handle for natural births (is it a huge coincidence how many natural births he misses?) or he's there, scalpel at the ready for a cesarean which he says is 'safer for mother, safer for baby'. Oh he's lovely and quietly spoken, has a great bedside manner and a throng of happy mummas at the ready to sing his praises.

But deviate from his plan, ask questions and/or expect a say in how your baby enters the world and you will find the normally lovely man turn into a self righteous, pompous, ignorant man who will tell you straight out - it's his way or the highway. He is more concerned with his insurance company than working with the mum and he actually said as much to me personally.

Obstetricians aren't gods ladies...if they're not going to do what you're paying them for then find one who will!

I would never recommend this man to any mother having a baby."

By AmandaC1 - 0% Trust 16th October 2008 3:53 pm

"It would be nice if you could take into consideration that there are people who are pregnant out there and who are currently using Peters services. I find it highly offensive and worrying that you think you have the right to be so judgmental. Also the fact that you would consider upsetting people who think that maybe they have made the right choice and are so far happy with their experience is a disgrace! LET PEOPLE DECIDE FOR THEMSELVES.. have some consideration for others and be fair. You have a right to an opinion. But think of others at the same time."

By MD23 - 80% Trust 16th October 2008 4:05 pm

"AmandaC1... If you're currently under his care and are happy with his services then why are you searching reviews on him? There is nothing disgraceful about my review, it is an accurate, truthful review based on my dealings with the man over two pregnancies...which unless I am mistaken, is what this site is all about. Nowhere in my review did I not allow people to decide for themselves. I simply stated that I would not recommend this person to anyone. If you're happy with the care you're receiving from him then good for you but you need to also have some consideration and respect for those who haven't and telling me I'm offensive, disgraceful and judgemental is not 'thinking of others'. Have a great pregnancy and birth."

By Shello - 0% Trust 4th March 2009 2:43 pm

"I cannot agree with you other than he's lovely and quietly spoken and has a great bedside manner, very dissapoiknting that you feel this way! "

By HayleyW2 - 0% Trust 26th September 2009 9:57 am

"Do you mind me asking what type of birth you had? Vaginal or C section? And did you visit him for 2 pregnancies? If so, was your experience negative both times or just the second?"

 
2 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
16th September 2008 9:04 pm
"I've just had my first child at Knox Private and Peter Tang was my obstetrican....

I have to say that i was very happy....

All my questions were answered and he always ask me if i had any questions........

All my questions were answered!..........

I did have a few little hic cups along the way and i found him to be fantastic........

"
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
13th August 2008 11:08 pm
"Dr Tang was my OB for my first and second child. I am very comfortable with him. He was always able to answer my thousands of questions. Most of all, i find that he is genuinely concern about the well being of my baby and me."
 
6 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
24th January 2008 12:27 pm
"Dr Tang was my obstetrician for the birth of my first child in September 2007. I saw him at Knox Hospital and felt very comfortable with him. Appointments were quick but I was always in good health. He was always able to answer any questions I had so I was never concerned. On the actual day he was there at the end of my labour but the midwives actually delivered my son as Dr Tang was with another mother...not that, that was a problem as the Midwives were great!"

By SarahL - 90% Trust 30th March 2010 5:02 pm

"Had my second child in September 2009 and this time Dr Tang made it in time for the delivery!"

 
32 Reviews
2 Compliments
220 Points
 (3/5)
8th January 2008 4:14 pm
"Dr Tang was my OBs for my first baby in 2006. He was fantastic at delivery, though I often felt like a number in the appointments and at follow up. Being my first pregnancy, I wanted to know a bit more, or feel comfortable asking more questions. I didn't feel I got this opportunity. He also wouldn't flex on inducing 7 days over, which was a bit frustrating - I wanted to go a little longer."
 

25 Reviews
100% Trust
3 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
21st September 2007 12:12 pm
"He is a first class obstetrician. I have had 2 babies under his care and and will go back for a thrid. I see him in his Mitcham rooms as he is there more often than the other locations. I also have numerous friends who have had babies under his care and feel the same way as I do. "
 

7 Reviews
70% Trust
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
5th August 2007 12:06 am
"Dr Tang was our Obstretrician for our second baby. The monthly and weekly visits leading up to the birth were great - very professional, helpful and easy to talk to about any changes or fears. He didn't make the birth (day off) but followed up in the days afterwards."
 
You can telephone Dr Peter Tang on 03 9210 3146