Doctors & Surgeons > Newcastle > Charlestown > Charlestown Medical Centre

Charlestown Medical Centre, Charlestown

316 Charlestown Rd
Charlestown, NSW 2290
near charlestown square

Customer Reviews for Charlestown Medical Centre, 12 reviews

39 Reviews
5 Compliments
8,285 Points
 (4/5)
20th August 2013 9:44 am
"Been going to this medical centre for a couple of years now and had mixed experiences.

As a walk-in, bulk-billing centre it can get busy so there can be a bit of a wait. Usually tends to be a bit better at teh start of the week with more doctors on.

You can choose from one of the doctors that are on that day or just go next available.

My wait's have been anywhere from 5 hours down to 15 minutes (barely had time to get myself settled before my name was getting called).

There have been a few doctors that I havent been too fond of (but you get that anywhere) and have since found one particular one that I like and go back to each time, but its also good that if he isnt there on a day that I need to see a doctor, then there are still others that I can see and they can easily bring up my medical files.

They also have pathology, xray, dental, physiotherapists and dieticians at the same centre."
 
14 Reviews
12 Compliments
2,340 Points
 (3/5)
23rd June 2013 12:25 am
"Went in with a sore thumb, waited ages, which is to be expected in a bulk billing clinic. Their xray machine was out of order, told me to come back another day, so spent another 3+hrs waiting to get it xrayed the next time, just to be told it was sprained... Doctors seemed to be ok, but wanting to turn out patients quickly"

By leeh13 - 80% Trust 15th July 2013 7:52 am

"I no longer go to Charlestown Medical centre the longest wait I had there was 5 hours and I had two little children with me 2 and 5yrs I now pay at another Charlestown surgery longest wait half an hour great service and get the same doctor who cares and knows my history."

 
61 Reviews
39 Compliments
4,195 Points
 (2/5)
11th February 2013 5:58 pm
"This medical centre was suggested to me by a friend so i went along to see how it was at first i went there for a few minor things which was fine but had to go back for a couple of serious things and maybe i just seen the wrong doctor but i wasnt treated correctly so i went back again on a different occastion hoping to get a better doctor and i had one who didnt really care im saying not all the doctors are like that and while its a big centre clean and tidy and the location is good parking is a bit hard and waiting time can be a bit long i myself wont go back but thats just me"
 
29 Reviews
4 Compliments
220 Points
 (4/5)
8th August 2011 5:50 pm
"Although you have to wait in the busy times I have not been able to fault the service that I have recieved.I would suggest phoning first and then you have some idea of waiting time."
 
231 Reviews
67 Compliments
20,185 Points
 (3/5)
24th July 2011 11:27 am
"Its great having a facility like this in the area, beats sitting in a sterile hospital emergency room for hours. At least here they tell you approx how long it will be, and depending on your illness or injury, you can head next door to the shops for a coffee or a browse.

All the doctors I have encountered here are very friendly, good at their jobs and seem to generally care, not just treat you like a number and try and get you in and out as quick as possible."

By sarah35 - 100% Trust 3rd May 2012 9:20 am

"yes i agree, my family goes there for after houres they are great."

 
21 Reviews
1 Compliments
205 Points
 (3/5)
25th June 2011 9:40 am
"This is a great medical facility. Doctors are friendly, thorough and are not afraid to refer on if they need to. I trust these doctors enough to take my children to."
 

4 Reviews
70% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (1/5)
18th April 2011 7:47 am
"I would just like to say that I have recently moved to Newcastle from Sydney and this bulk billing service disgusted me. I went there expecting to wait a while but to my horror I was waiting for 2 hours before I walked out (that was the second time). The first time, I went in, got to see a doctor 1.5 hrs later and he told me I was telling him how to do his job...isnt it my body in the end? I was so appauled and I dont recommend anyone go there!"
 
10 Reviews
1 Compliments
205 Points
 (1/5)
22nd March 2011 11:11 am
"I do pity people staying in Newcastle, seriously. There is only one bulk billing medical centre which all poor people could turn to. This medical centre make people wait at least more than 1 hour to get your consultation required. In my case, i was told I would be the 8th in queue. However, the doctors did not go by the queue and chose their patients by random selection of their displayed forms at the counter desk. During my wait, i have seen many frustrated patients came in and asked for their turns after waited hours. For me, it is one reason I decided to abandon Newcastle altogether."

By jo77 - 100% Trust 11th February 2013 4:51 pm

"Totally agree with you"

 
22 Reviews
1 Compliments
205 Points
 (4/5)
16th September 2010 2:45 am
"Approximately 10 doctors available at any given time. Choice of doctor or first available option. Internal x-ray, Pharmacy, Pathology Lab and dental departments aswell as mini surgery/sick bay for immediate urgent attention while you wait. Open till 10 Pm seven days a week only time appointment necessary or rather prefered is after 8pm to enable crowd reduction in view of closing time at 10 pm. Friendly, patient, informative staff. Clean and Secure environment. Considering number patients waiting at times time management is sometimes unforseenly timely and delayed but over come respectively and considerably quick. Bulk billing service Available. Prompt and usually immediate referall/access to internal departments an added bonus and time saver as is eliminates the need to allocate time to attend other facilities and also prevents delays for reviews as they are able to be done almost immediately with availability of much required computer technology etc."
 
29 Reviews
3 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
6th April 2010 6:45 pm
"Had to go here a few times when i couldnt get into my own doctor. The staff are friendly and the doctors are great. They are open 7 days and you dont need an appointment. And they bulk bill"
 
29 Reviews
2 Compliments
220 Points
 (2/5)
30th December 2009 9:05 pm
"This place has its pros and cons. It is great in that it bulk bills and you do not have to book an appointment, it is also open longer hours which is convenient.

The major downside is the wait time to see a doctor - have sat and waited for over 4 hours at times. "
 
4 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
12th November 2009 9:28 pm
"The doctors at the centre are always helpful, they work long hours and nothing is a trouble, they are very thorough in their testing and considerate and kind"
 
You can telephone Charlestown Medical Centre on 02 4915 1222