Vanilah

based on 99 reviews
Customer Approved
“We make customer
service a priority”

Write a review

Customer Reviews for Vanilah, 99 reviews

09 Feb 2015

Having just moved to Ballarat I was on the lookout for a new hairdresser which can always be a challenging experience. In one hit I have found the hairdresser that I will be returning. It was a stroke of genius for Vanilah to include a voucher for their salon on the new residents book. The service I received from Michelle and her team was exceptional and left me feeling well informed of the whole process and very happy with my cut and colour. I cannot thank them enough and I would highly recommend them to anyone. Vanilah is a wonderful asset to Ballarat.

Vanilah 10 Feb 2015

AAww thank you that is a very big complement and a beautiful review.
It seems you have bought the sun shine with you so please stay as long as you like :)
Kind Regards
Michelle

22 Jul 2015

The best haircutters in Ballarat without a doubt, Just come back from having my haircut by Michelle and I feel 10 years younger.
She is a perfectionist and is as good if not better than any of the hairdressers I went to in Melbourne when I lived there. She obviously keeps up with the latest trends as do the other girls there.

03 Jul 2015

I had a horrible experience - I booked with a fully qualified hairdresser and was given the apprentice who started to hack at my hair, one side of layers was 2 inches long, the other was 4 inches long and looked bad so the owner tried to sell me extensions to cover their mistake. I'm still growing out this horror of a hack. When I complained and tried to ring the owner her husband would constantly say she was sleeping, busy or not available and I should not complain. I spent a lot of money on this hack and feel sad and embarrassed that I had to pay - they've never apologised :(

Approximate cost: $55

02 Jul 2015

Very well treated with a soothing vibe. With friendly, talented and comfortable staff, I felt like I was being treated to the very best with perfect manners and kind hearted staff. I love Vanilah and it is my new go to hairdressers.

Approximate cost: $40

20 Jun 2015

The staff at Vanilah are wonderful. Rebekah is a fabulous hair dresser who gives thoughtful advice, knows her products inside out and backwards and is honest in recommending what suits and what works for each person's hair. It's a real luxury going to get my hair cut here! Highly recommend the Kerastase treatments!

16 May 2015

Didn't expect the lovely massage before the haircut, very relaxing and the staff are welcoming and friendly. Because of some disappointing experiences with other hairdressers, I decided to visit Vanilah and very happy that I did. I've always believed that consistency is the go and pleased with the way Sam cuts my hair. I am sure it will be an ongoing experience.

14 May 2015

Can't recommend Vanilah highly enough. Always courteous and professional. It is nice to go to a salon where the staff are unpretentious and actually listen to what you want. I am new to Ballarat and researched salons before moving here. Vanilah had the best reviews. I now won't go to another salon. Excellent value for money.

21 Apr 2015

Exemplary service but more importantly, really really good hair. This is a salon based on wonderfully traditional customer service ideals married with the most cutting edge hairdressing. Clearly the top in their class. I have had great service from Sam and the most exceptional service And the best colour ever from Michelle. Worth the wait for an appointment.

Approximate cost: $200

21 Apr 2015

I moved to Ballarat and mum recommended I get my hair cut from Michelle at Vanilah. It sounded like a nice place and was amazing inside, but I was reluctant to get my hair cut as so often hair dressers get it wrong. I was treated like a princess and told I should be a hair model and walked out feeling (and looking) like a million dollars. Hands down the best hairdressers in Ballarat

Approximate cost: $60

15 Mar 2015

I am new to Ballarat & need my haircut. I read the reviews & thought I would give Vanilah Hair Salon a try. I told the lady on the phone that I was new to town so she told me where the street the salon was on. I had parked at the wrong end of Camp Street. Upon entering the salon, I told the lady at behind the counter who I was. She asked me to take a seat first. She didn't introduce herself. We discussed what would be done with my hair. She washed me hair then I received a short complimentary head massage which was nice & then she started my haircut. Still no name. I read online that the salon was open to 8pm but was told it would be closing at 7pm because of lack of clients at a busy time of the year. I thought it was odd that there were only 2 customers on their salon. I believe the way to know if a business is good is to see how many customers they have. In all the salon I have been in, I am always asked it I would like coffee/tea & it seems like a standard thing these days. I had to ask for a coffee. And then I was charge almost $70 (which I knew about ahead of time) & felt there was no special treatment with me. No coffee/tea offered & no introduction. I also have a problem with significant hairloss & asked for advice. She gave me a minute sample of product that they sell without showing it to me or telling me prices so nothing was solved. I didn't feel important in this salon & the haircut was ok but nothing special. I only had a re-style. Maybe because I only paid $67 dollars, I was just an ordinary client. I will not return. Maybe one of the other salons in Ballarat will know how to treat their clients. Also my details are usually taken down so when I come back next time, they will know what I had. Very outdated for such a nice looking salon.

Approximate cost: $67

Vanilah 24 Mar 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit, there is no excuse when it comes to introducing our selves. This review highlights the importance of small details, they are often the most important.
We are a small team and close at 6pm Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. 5pm on Friday.
You may be interested to know that the city of Ballarat offer a new residents voucher book to help you connect to local business. We have a generous offer as do other salons I can only hope that you may use it in the future and review us again with a similar rating to our other reviews. Thank you with this we grow.
Kind Regards
Michelle- Business Owner

Bunny 03 Jul 2015 · 100% Trust

Yeah I hear you, boiling hot day and I was not even offered water - I did not get a head massage. The lady on reception ran off to get her dad a coffee whilst he was seated at reception and I was stuck with the apprentice whilst the senior hairdresser strolled around preening. Wonder if that's you get when you don't pay $100+ ps I got charged full price for apprentice who ruined my hair.

Write a review

Business Awards

2012 Service Award 2013 Service Award 2014 Service Award 2015 Service Award

Earn Vouchers and Rewards

Customers! You can earn vouchers simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account