Vanilah

based on 101 reviews
  • Ballarat, VIC 3350
    By referral only
  • 0000... Click to show
  • Opening Hours (Saturday: Closed)
  • Payment methods
    Eftpos, Credit and Cash

101 reviews about Vanilah

20 Apr 2016

I had a style cut and balayage done by Michelle; as a new resident in Ballarat, the $200 voucher encouraged me to get my hair done when I probably wouldn't have otherwise.

Initially, it was just something nice to feel good about myself, as I've had so many bad or average experiences with hairdressers, but having my hair done has been AMAZING. I actually waited about a month before making this review, to see how my hair settled and started growing, and it's only gotten better.

Michelle was lovely to talk to, and I felt that she not only listened to what I wanted, but actually had an idea of what would look good on me - something many hairdressers don't. For example, she mentioned when I asked for layers that she didn't think a fringe of any sort would suit my particular face shape, something I had worked out in the last few years, but wish I'd been told earlier! Many hairdressers seem to take a trendy style and apply it to your hair, without working out whether it will look good on you - I expect when I'm paying a lot of money that the hairdresser is there to tell me what will or won't suit me!

The balayage looks amazing, and is exactly what I wanted, as is the cut. The only down side to the haircut and colour is that I booked in for July, before I go overseas, to get a refresh ... and I don't think I'll actually need it! The cut and colour are so good that they could easily last a year before I need another (I have longish hair)!

I also really loved the salon. It feels quiet and peaceful, not loud and garish as some salons are.

Although I'm not sure yet if I will go back in July, I am 100% sure that I won't be trusting anyone else to do my hair! A great hair style and cut makes you feel amazing weeks after you've walked out of the salon (not just the first hour), and that's exactly what I got.

Thank you so much, I'll definitely be back!

Oh, and while there were a couple of reviews about bad assistants, I know Michelle had a trainee while I was there (I can't remember her name!) who was completely lovely. She's the first person who's ever asked if the blow dryer was too hot (ever had to pull your hair away from an overenthusiastic hairdresser who is burning your scalp to get them to take the hint?), and I got a lovely head massage and wash.

I haven't been anywhere else in Ballarat, but I definitely recommend Vanilah to anyone looking for a great experience - it is more than worth the money! (Note - the price was $240, including a treatment, but because of the voucher I only paid $40)

Approximate cost: $240

Vanilah 04 May 2016

Katy that's an amazing review. Thank you.
Maddie my assistant is a true gem.
We hope your holiday is fantastic. Hair always needs a treat after holiday even if you get it done before you go, so save it for when you come back. Also I will be moving locations in June, like us on Facebook so you don't miss the news.
Kindest regards
Michelle

09 Oct 2015

Sorry to say that Vanilah Hair Salon is no longer:
Will be missed...........Having phoned to make an appointment to be told that Rebecca and Michelle have gone :

Vanilah 11 Oct 2015

Hi annb840, Thanks for the 5 star review. I think you have miss understood. Yes we have down sized and Rebecca has moved on how ever I am still looking after many clients who enjoyed the salon at Camp street. Please feel free to call our salon co-coordinator to arrange a booking.
Kind Regards
Michelle

22 Jul 2015

The best haircutters in Ballarat without a doubt, Just come back from having my haircut by Michelle and I feel 10 years younger.
She is a perfectionist and is as good if not better than any of the hairdressers I went to in Melbourne when I lived there. She obviously keeps up with the latest trends as do the other girls there.

03 Jul 2015

I had a horrible experience - I booked with a fully qualified hairdresser and was given the apprentice who started to hack at my hair, one side of layers was 2 inches long, the other was 4 inches long and looked bad so the owner tried to sell me extensions to cover their mistake. I'm still growing out this horror of a hack. When I complained and tried to ring the owner her husband would constantly say she was sleeping, busy or not available and I should not complain. I spent a lot of money on this hack and feel sad and embarrassed that I had to pay - they've never apologised :(

Approximate cost: $55

Vanilah 11 Oct 2015

Hi Bunny, I'm not really sure how to respond to your review. We do not offer extensions services and at the date of your review we did not have an apprentice who owned a pair of scissors. Our going rate for a hair cut is $67.
We did how ever have 2 problem staff that sad to say have defiantly damaged Vanilahs reputation for a small time. I am now only just finding the extent of that damage. The date of your review does suggest your visit co-insides with a very tumultuous time and if you would like me to asses your hair I would be happy to. Please contact my salon co-coordinator and reference this review and make a time and see if we can turn a bad situation into something better.
Kind Regards
Michelle

02 Jul 2015

Very well treated with a soothing vibe. With friendly, talented and comfortable staff, I felt like I was being treated to the very best with perfect manners and kind hearted staff. I love Vanilah and it is my new go to hairdressers.

Approximate cost: $40

20 Jun 2015

The staff at Vanilah are wonderful. Rebekah is a fabulous hair dresser who gives thoughtful advice, knows her products inside out and backwards and is honest in recommending what suits and what works for each person's hair. It's a real luxury going to get my hair cut here! Highly recommend the Kerastase treatments!

Vanilah 11 Oct 2015

Hello lovely,
Thank you for taking the time to review. You have always been a valued client. All the best for the future and look after yourself.
Kind Regards
Michelle

16 May 2015

Didn't expect the lovely massage before the haircut, very relaxing and the staff are welcoming and friendly. Because of some disappointing experiences with other hairdressers, I decided to visit Vanilah and very happy that I did. I've always believed that consistency is the go and pleased with the way Sam cuts my hair. I am sure it will be an ongoing experience.

14 May 2015

Can't recommend Vanilah highly enough. Always courteous and professional. It is nice to go to a salon where the staff are unpretentious and actually listen to what you want. I am new to Ballarat and researched salons before moving here. Vanilah had the best reviews. I now won't go to another salon. Excellent value for money.

21 Apr 2015

Exemplary service but more importantly, really really good hair. This is a salon based on wonderfully traditional customer service ideals married with the most cutting edge hairdressing. Clearly the top in their class. I have had great service from Sam and the most exceptional service And the best colour ever from Michelle. Worth the wait for an appointment.

Approximate cost: $200

21 Apr 2015

I moved to Ballarat and mum recommended I get my hair cut from Michelle at Vanilah. It sounded like a nice place and was amazing inside, but I was reluctant to get my hair cut as so often hair dressers get it wrong. I was treated like a princess and told I should be a hair model and walked out feeling (and looking) like a million dollars. Hands down the best hairdressers in Ballarat

Approximate cost: $60

Write a review

Business Awards

2012 Service Award 2013 Service Award 2014 Service Award 2015 Service Award

Earn Vouchers and Rewards

Customers! You can earn vouchers simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account