Vanilah, Ballarat

"Hairdressers in Ballarat - Amazing Hair, Fantastic team, Brilliant service all guaranteed"
6 Camp St
Ballarat, VIC 3350
Oposite the Performing Art's Uni Campus

 

V A N I L A H




Vanilah's team of styist have over 50 years combined experience, all are highly trained and specialise:

  • Tape Hair Extentions
  • Bridal styling
  • Cut
  • Colour
  • Highlighting
  • Colour correction work

We use only the best products on your hair not cheap and nasty.  We are proud to be a Kevin Murphy Session Salon and Kerastase Salon and stock the full range of both ranges.

We also stock the full range of American Crew products.

Our passion is to create beautiful wearable hair.  We are so confident in our ability that we have a full guarantee in place so you have the confidence that you will be happy with your hair every time!
 

Call us today to recieve your complimentary consultation and meet the team that will always put your hair needs first (not what they are doing on the weekend).

Reviewed by customers as one of the
Top 5 Hairdressers in Ballarat

Opening Hours:  M: 10am-3pm  T: 10am-8pm  W: 10am-8pm  T: 10am-8pm  F: 9am-6pm  S: 9am-3pm  S: closed  PHol: closed
Payment Methods:  Eftpos, Credit and Cash

Customer Reviews for Vanilah, 86 reviews


1 Reviews
60% Trust
1 Compliments
600 Points
 (4/5)
7th August 2012 2:06 pm - Our Favourite Review
"I had a major change going from long to very short hair. The team at Vanilah were fantastic. From booking the appointment, through to post - cut care, they were professional, only too happy to help and stood by their "7 days to come back if you don't love it" principle. I loved the cut, but wanted a tiny bit more cut off. Rebecca was only too happy to talk to me about it, fix it for free, and to recommend some beautiful products to use at home. There was not one iota of grumpyness, as some salons display if you're not 100% happy. She explained the colour/foil placement, the cut and the reasons behind it all really well. I would HIGHLY recommend this hairdressing salon to anyone. "

By Business Owner 26th September 2012 3:38 pm

"Hi, Thank you for the review. I have never understood the grumpy thing and have worked along side a few in my time (they arn't nice in the back room either). In the perfect world we would review every long to short cut a week after as it offten needs a tweek. I'd rather you pop back than see you at the suppermarket hiding from me:0!! Thank you for the oppertunity to make it perfect. Michelle"

By ReecesCheckYaPieces - 90% Trust 6th August 2014 10:20 am

"Hi Anonymous, really appreciated reading your review! Thanks also for enlightening us on the ‘7 Day’ guarantee which sounds magnificent. We were also impressed by Michelle’s latter comment. Seriously, how many of us have literally ‘hidden’ in the supermarket from a dreadful ex-hairdresser? Regards, Reeces "

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
5th August 2014 8:51 am
"It doesn't matter which hairdresser you see at Vanillah, they each meet the highest standards of professionalism equally. The best part is - they get it right every time. They NEVER guess!!! I first visited Vanillah over a year ago with severely damaged hair. More than a year on, with regular visits and following the advice of the girls I have nearly perfect hair. Michelle is such a friendly business owner, she does her job because she loves it and that really shines through. I love going into the salon looking my worst and coming out looking my absolute best! Great service, great advice, great products and a beautiful team. Thanks Vanillah! "
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
30th July 2014 3:47 pm
"I have been going to Vanilah for a few years now and my hair hasn't been healthier and shinier. They recommend amazing products based on the condition and needs of your hair and really help to bring it back to health. I always have people commenting on how great my hair looks in terms of cut and general health. I have also had updo's done by the salon and they have always looked fantastic. Michelle and the team are always accommodating, they always take the time to discuss your options and nothing is ever too much trouble. I cannot wait for the Vanilah team to look after myself and wedding party in October."
 
2 Reviews
0 Compliments
800 Points
 (5/5)
6th June 2014 8:45 am
"I came to Vanilah whilst visiting Ballarat, and couldn't be happier with the service I received from Michelle and Tori. I felt so pampered, and my hair is the best it's ever been. I was visiting to see an unwell family member, so being made to feel so good about myself couldn't have come at a better time. It's not often you find such a friendly, and kind atmosphere AND be in a classy and professional environment. The products used were beautiful, my cut is divine and I love my colour. If I could come back to Ballarat just for my hair appointments, I would. Thank you so much girls, I loved it!"
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (4/5)
17th May 2014 9:04 pm
"I am new to Ballarat and looking for a new hairdreser. The girl who cut my hair Sam was lovely and listened to what I wanted done to my hair."
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (5/5)
16th March 2014 8:13 pm
"My hair always looks amazing after getting it done at Vanilah. I never have to worry as to whether I will like it or not because Rebecca always gets it exactly how I want it. Best hairdresser's I have been to without a doubt"
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
3rd March 2014 12:37 pm
"I'm fairly new to Ballarat and I was looking for somewhere there could rescue me from a hair disaster. After looking at previous reviews on WOMO I found Vanilah and made an appointment. Sam was the person who saved me and rectified my hair issues, she was helpful, professional and gave me a look I was 100% happy with.. thank you, I won't be going anywhere else from now on!!"
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
9th February 2014 6:29 pm
"I have been having my hair cut and coloured by Rebecca and Michelle at Vanilah for over 12 months now and I am completely satisfied. When I left South Yarra to live in Creswick (15 minutes from Ballarat) my most pressing personal need was a good hairdresser. I have fine hair that needs constant colour and precision cutting. Vanilah has the expertise, the professionalism and the friendliness I value in an excellent hairdresser. They even offer upfront advice and pricing before you start so no nasty surprises. I can highly recommend their service to locals and any newcomers."
 

1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
4th February 2014 7:48 pm
"First time customer at Vanilah, came in for a trim while staying in Ballarat. Was a bit nervous to go to someone new as I've been going to same hairdresser in melbourne for 9 years. I was really impressed with the service I received and also the cut done by Elise was fantastic,she did exactly what i hoped for and I left really happy!! I found the price very reasonable too.Thanks heaps."
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (5/5)
14th November 2013 12:20 am
"Michelle from Vanilah started her apprenticeship in Adelaide with me in the mid 90's. When she moved interstate I always hoped that she would return or continue hairdressing. Not only has she continued she now owns and runs a successful salon recognised not only in Ballarat but Australia wide! Its been great to see you grow Michelle. There is no doubt in my mind Vanilah is quality. Cheers Davide (Underground Haircutters) "

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 9:56 am

" I will be moving back to Adelaide one day with my CV in hand and I promise I wont break anything on my first day back if you'll have me!!. Working for you was the highlight of my junior years. Thank you Davide for being an amazing mentor, this review bought tears to my eyes."

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
4th November 2013 11:45 pm
"I had my first haircut at Vanilah last week by Tori - and it is the best haircut I've ever had!!! She and all the staff were incredibly friendly, and the salon is beautiful. Tori took the time to find out what I wanted, and to choose a style that suited my type of hair. I will definitely be going back to Tori, and recommending this fantastic salon to all my friends. Thanks Tori!!!!"

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:08 am

"Tori most defiantly a rising star in our team. You'll be happy to hear she recently placed in the regional world skills completion and daily showing a true talent for quality colour work. Well done Tori keep up the good work. Thank you for the review they defiantly help raise our stylist and salon profile I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to our salon and thanks again. Dont forget our last day before Christmas is the 21st of December then back on the 28th for New years. Cheers Michelle"

 

1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
30th October 2013 8:01 pm
"I don't usually leave reviews online but I have found it so hard to find a good hairdresser that I thought I would share my positive experience. All the staff were friendly. The space was pleasant. My hair was cut by Sam who was very helpful in helping me decide what to do (no easy task, as I was quite vague and had a few "hair challenges" to overcome). I was considering getting a colour she advised me I didn't really need to in order to get the result I wanted. I'm thrilled with the result and was impressed that she didn't try to sell me something I didn't really need. Good choice of background music too."

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:15 am

"What a fantastic review. I remember your visit, you were the fun lady with the curls. This review is so sweet because that was Sams second day in our team we now can not imagine Vanilah with out her quiet no fuss approach. Thank you for taking the time to write a review it means a lot to us,taking a new staff member on can be very nerve racking and you have cemented for me that Sam is a keeper. "

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
450 Points
 (5/5)
30th October 2013 4:21 pm
"Very Happy with the friendliness of all the staff. Tori's fingers are magical. I don't trust just anyone with my hair and will be happy to go back."

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:18 am

"Magic indeed. Mens hair is something we specialize in a Tori defiantly has it down pat. Thank you for the review its much appreciated. Kind Regards Michelle"

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
29th October 2013 7:33 pm
"Clean, bright, fresh salon. Friendly welcoming staff made me feel very comfortable. Happy to chat and great hair cut, very happy. shampoo, head massage and cut spoiled. Thanks to the staff gret job"

By babenreviewer - 100% Trust 29th October 2013 10:35 pm

"given their service i gotta admit it seems pretty good value for $46 xx"

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:21 am

"Great to hear thank you for taking the time to review us. Spoiling is what we do :) "

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (4/5)
20th October 2013 10:24 am
"A fabulous relaxing afternoon, staff are all so friendly and accommodating. A wonderful cut and color, will be returning!"

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:31 am

"Thank you for taking the time to review. I like that it seems the whole team have really been apart of your experience. I feel that team work is what sets us apart, we learn daily from one another which means it just gets better for you our customer. Our salon goal is that a vast majority of people dont mind who does their hair because the faith in the salon overrides. Kindest Regards Michelle "

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
19th October 2013 6:15 pm
"fantastic friendly staff and so pleased with the quality of the haircuts offered. Tori is fantastic "

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:34 am

"They are the friendly'ist bunch of hairdressers I have worked with in 24 years. Great review. Good job girls Thank you for the review. Cheers Michelle"

 
6 Reviews
0 Compliments
720 Points
 (5/5)
19th October 2013 2:40 pm
"Had a cut and colour here a short time ago and couldn't believe how amazing fantastic the service was, FREE coffee and friendly staff to help out with colour range and styles. good value for money . Will return."

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:38 am

"You can come back any time and you can have 2 coffees if you like:) We use the bean Barn - Mopoke ground for plunger. You find the Bean Barn next to the town hall on Sturt street. Cheers"

By ReecesCheckYaPieces - 90% Trust 5th August 2014 7:24 pm

"Hi MartyW, thanks for the heads-up! I wonder if management would consider stocking Craig’s Grounded Pleasures Hot Chocolate, made here in Ballarat? Afterall, a ‘Chilli’ Hot Chocolate would be an added incentive to visit, especially on a cold Ballarat morning! Regards, Reeces "

 
8 Reviews
0 Compliments
800 Points
 (5/5)
6th September 2013 9:31 am
"Tried Vanilah based on feedback on this site, they are fantastic. Emily now cuts and colours my hair and she does a great job. Also get provided with a quote beforehand so no nasty surprises when I go to pay. Service is first rate."

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:45 am

"Thank you for your review. Quoting first is so important, much nicer to sit back and relax than worry about how much its going to cost. Also our staff are much happier to work to your budget and get the best outcome s for your budget than have a client leave un happy with price. Its a win win. Susan unfortunately Emily is no longer with us but I have up most confidence that we can continue to look after you to the same standards. Please contact me if you have any concerns. Kindest Regards Michelle "

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
21st August 2013 3:17 pm
"Having a very bad experience with another salon I was a little worried about trusting another hairdresser. After a friend recommended Vanilah to me I thought I would make an appointment. From my first appointment Emily was honest and really cared about her clients. I was looking to cut my long hair off and change colour. Most salons would just do it regardless of how it would actually look. Emily gave me some great advice about what would suit me better and worked out a plan to achieve this. After my great experience on the first appointment I was more than happy to go back a week later to start the cutting of my hair. I just LOVE my new hair style and the great advise from Emily and Michelle. Highly recommend this salon to anyone! Looking forward to my next appointment :) Thank you so much Emily!! "

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:49 am

"Thank You Nicole and I have to say your hair certainly was looking much better at your last visit. I really love helping people improve their hair challenges. Not everyone always follows the advice the way you did. Well done to you:) Thank you for putting up a reiview. Cheers Michelle"

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
26th July 2013 1:49 pm
"Best hairdresser in ballarat. I've been going to the lovely rebecca for over a year now. She is a amazling talented hairdresser. Always exceeding me expectations. Always leave feeling beautiful. Tori gives amazing head massages. Great experience every time!"

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:51 am

"Hi Sam, Thank you for the review. Rebecca is fantastic and consistently exceeds my expectations as well. Good work Rebecca. Cheers Michellle "

 
45 Reviews
11 Compliments
1,865 Points
 (4/5)
17th July 2013 4:39 pm
"Michelle has a brilliantly talented and friendly team at her gorgeous upmarket salon.

Yet sadly I can no longer afford the $240 (full-head of foils, cut & blow wave) plus optional $30 (deep conditioning treatment at the wash basin).

My hair has always looked gorgeous and felt great whenever I've left this salon.

My only disappointment was my last couple of visits I felt very pressured to buy hair products there as the hairdressers will keep asking and asking you what products you use and just won't let go of the topic until you simply give in to buy a product there and then they stop badgering you. Unfortunately it was a very obvious ' selling push ', which made me feel very uncomfortable. I guess the staff there must think if you can afford their hair salon prices then buying products there won't break the bank for you.

If you can afford to go here I recommend no other salon but here but if not maybe make it for a special occasion to treat yourself."

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 11:00 am

"Thank you for the complements. I'm sadden to hear that we wont get to play with your hair any more. Particularly because we have a strong quote before we start policy. I am also surprised to hear that you have a full head every time as most of our blondes only have a full head every 3rd visit.Your feed back regarding product sales is important and will be used in our training for all staff including my self as I strongly believe we are here to fix hair problems not sell product. Thank you for all of your feed back. I hope I do get to do your hair again. Kindest Regards Michelle"

By ReecesCheckYaPieces - 90% Trust 5th August 2014 7:19 pm

"Finally, a review from someone with a decent TrustFactor! We tend to get suspicious when we see pages of reviews from members with minimalist trust, so coming across your review was appreciated. Prices do however sound somewhat inflated, but given the sheer volume of shocking hairdressers within the area, they may indeed be worth the extra expense. In all honesty, most related prices seem expensive to us, as we have had the luxury of having ‘free’ hair cuts for many years! We too seriously dislike hard sales pushes and will simply not oblige anymore. Our philosophy is simple: A decent product will sell itself! We found it encouraging that the business owner (Michelle) appeared to take your feedback/comments onboard and in light of this (and other factors); we may indeed pay them a visit sometime soon. Thanks Again, Reeces "

 
You can telephone Vanilah on 03 5333 4533
This business has 86 reviews. Click below to show the next page.

1   2   3   4   5   Next