• Find a Business
  • Review a Business
  • Offers
> > > Vanilah

Vanilah, Ballarat

"Hairdressers in Ballarat - Amazing Hair, Fantastic team, Brilliant service all guaranteed"
Address:
6 Camp St
Ballarat, VIC 3350
Oposite the Performing Art's Uni Campus

Tel: 03 5333 4...
Email this business
Visit Website

Contacts: Michelle, Lianna, Bronwyn, Rebecca, Tori, Angie, Emily and Elise on Reception

Something incorrect?
This Business is Managed

 

V A N I L A H




Vanilah's team of styist have over 50 years combined experience, all are highly trained and specialise:

  • Tape Hair Extentions
  • Bridal styling
  • Cut
  • Colour
  • Highlighting
  • Colour correction work

We use only the best products on your hair not cheap and nasty.  We are proud to be a Kevin Murphy Session Salon and Kerastase Salon and stock the full range of both ranges.

We also stock the full range of American Crew products.

Our passion is to create beautiful wearable hair.  We are so confident in our ability that we have a full guarantee in place so you have the confidence that you will be happy with your hair every time!
 

Call us today to recieve your complimentary consultation and meet the team that will always put your hair needs first (not what they are doing on the weekend).

Reviewed by customers as one of the
Top 5 Hairdressers in Ballarat

Opening Hours:  M: 10am-3pm  T: 10am-8pm  W: 10am-8pm  T: 10am-8pm  F: 9am-6pm  S: 9am-3pm  S: closed  PHol: closed
Payment Methods:  Eftpos, Credit and Cash
 
 

Customer Reviews for Vanilah (82 reviews)

 
Anonymous Member
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (4/5)
7th August 2012 2:06 pm - Our Favourite Review
I had a major change going from long to very short hair. The team at Vanilah were fantastic. From booking the appointment, through to post - cut care, they were professional, only too happy to help and stood by their "7 days to come back if you don't love it" principle. I loved the cut, but wanted a tiny bit more cut off. Rebecca was only too happy to talk to me about it, fix it for free, and to recommend some beautiful products to use at home. There was not one iota of grumpyness, as some salons display if you're not 100% happy. She explained the colour/foil placement, the cut and the reasons behind it all really well. I would HIGHLY recommend this hairdressing salon to anyone.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
200

Comments

By Business Owner 26th September 2012 3:38 pm

Hi, Thank you for the review. I have never understood the grumpy thing and have worked along side a few in my time (they arn't nice in the back room either). In the perfect world we would review every long to short cut a week after as it offten needs a tweek. I'd rather you pop back than see you at the suppermarket hiding from me:0!! Thank you for the oppertunity to make it perfect. Michelle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (5/5)
16th March 2014 8:13 pm
My hair always looks amazing after getting it done at Vanilah. I never have to worry as to whether I will like it or not because Rebecca always gets it exactly how I want it. Best hairdresser's I have been to without a doubt

Quality
Service
Value


 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
3rd March 2014 12:37 pm
I'm fairly new to Ballarat and I was looking for somewhere there could rescue me from a hair disaster. After looking at previous reviews on WOMO I found Vanilah and made an appointment. Sam was the person who saved me and rectified my hair issues, she was helpful, professional and gave me a look I was 100% happy with.. thank you, I won't be going anywhere else from now on!!

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
130
 
1 Reviews
80% Trust
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
9th February 2014 6:29 pm
I have been having my hair cut and coloured by Rebecca and Michelle at Vanilah for over 12 months now and I am completely satisfied. When I left South Yarra to live in Creswick (15 minutes from Ballarat) my most pressing personal need was a good hairdresser. I have fine hair that needs constant colour and precision cutting. Vanilah has the expertise, the professionalism and the friendliness I value in an excellent hairdresser. They even offer upfront advice and pricing before you start so no nasty surprises. I can highly recommend their service to locals and any newcomers.

Quality
Service
Value


 
Anonymous Member
1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
4th February 2014 7:48 pm
First time customer at Vanilah, came in for a trim while staying in Ballarat. Was a bit nervous to go to someone new as I've been going to same hairdresser in melbourne for 9 years. I was really impressed with the service I received and also the cut done by Elise was fantastic,she did exactly what i hoped for and I left really happy!! I found the price very reasonable too.Thanks heaps.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
66
 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (5/5)
14th November 2013 12:20 am
Michelle from Vanilah started her apprenticeship in Adelaide with me in the mid 90's. When she moved interstate I always hoped that she would return or continue hairdressing. Not only has she continued she now owns and runs a successful salon recognised not only in Ballarat but Australia wide! Its been great to see you grow Michelle. There is no doubt in my mind Vanilah is quality. Cheers Davide (Underground Haircutters)

Quality
Service
Value



Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 9:56 am

I will be moving back to Adelaide one day with my CV in hand and I promise I wont break anything on my first day back if you'll have me!!. Working for you was the highlight of my junior years. Thank you Davide for being an amazing mentor, this review bought tears to my eyes.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
4th November 2013 11:45 pm
I had my first haircut at Vanilah last week by Tori - and it is the best haircut I've ever had!!! She and all the staff were incredibly friendly, and the salon is beautiful. Tori took the time to find out what I wanted, and to choose a style that suited my type of hair. I will definitely be going back to Tori, and recommending this fantastic salon to all my friends. Thanks Tori!!!!

Quality
Service
Value



Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:08 am

Tori most defiantly a rising star in our team. You'll be happy to hear she recently placed in the regional world skills completion and daily showing a true talent for quality colour work. Well done Tori keep up the good work. Thank you for the review they defiantly help raise our stylist and salon profile I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to our salon and thanks again. Dont forget our last day before Christmas is the 21st of December then back on the 28th for New years. Cheers Michelle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
Anonymous Member
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
30th October 2013 8:01 pm
I don't usually leave reviews online but I have found it so hard to find a good hairdresser that I thought I would share my positive experience. All the staff were friendly. The space was pleasant. My hair was cut by Sam who was very helpful in helping me decide what to do (no easy task, as I was quite vague and had a few "hair challenges" to overcome). I was considering getting a colour she advised me I didn't really need to in order to get the result I wanted. I'm thrilled with the result and was impressed that she didn't try to sell me something I didn't really need. Good choice of background music too.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
$66

Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:15 am

What a fantastic review. I remember your visit, you were the fun lady with the curls. This review is so sweet because that was Sams second day in our team we now can not imagine Vanilah with out her quiet no fuss approach. Thank you for taking the time to write a review it means a lot to us,taking a new staff member on can be very nerve racking and you have cemented for me that Sam is a keeper.

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
450 Points
 (5/5)
30th October 2013 4:21 pm
Very Happy with the friendliness of all the staff. Tori's fingers are magical. I don't trust just anyone with my hair and will be happy to go back.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
46

Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:18 am

Magic indeed. Mens hair is something we specialize in a Tori defiantly has it down pat. Thank you for the review its much appreciated. Kind Regards Michelle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
29th October 2013 7:33 pm
Clean, bright, fresh salon. Friendly welcoming staff made me feel very comfortable. Happy to chat and great hair cut, very happy. shampoo, head massage and cut spoiled. Thanks to the staff gret job

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
46

Comments

By babenreviewer - 100% Trust 29th October 2013 10:35 pm

given their service i gotta admit it seems pretty good value for $46 xx

Flag as suspect or inappropriate

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:21 am

Great to hear thank you for taking the time to review us. Spoiling is what we do :)

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (4/5)
20th October 2013 10:24 am
A fabulous relaxing afternoon, staff are all so friendly and accommodating. A wonderful cut and color, will be returning!

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
200

Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:31 am

Thank you for taking the time to review. I like that it seems the whole team have really been apart of your experience. I feel that team work is what sets us apart, we learn daily from one another which means it just gets better for you our customer. Our salon goal is that a vast majority of people dont mind who does their hair because the faith in the salon overrides. Kindest Regards Michelle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
19th October 2013 6:15 pm
fantastic friendly staff and so pleased with the quality of the haircuts offered. Tori is fantastic

Quality
Service
Value



Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:34 am

They are the friendly'ist bunch of hairdressers I have worked with in 24 years. Great review. Good job girls Thank you for the review. Cheers Michelle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
6 Reviews
70% Trust
0 Compliments
720 Points
 (5/5)
19th October 2013 2:40 pm
Had a cut and colour here a short time ago and couldn't believe how amazing fantastic the service was, FREE coffee and friendly staff to help out with colour range and styles. good value for money . Will return.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
30-100

Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:38 am

You can come back any time and you can have 2 coffees if you like:) We use the bean Barn - Mopoke ground for plunger. You find the Bean Barn next to the town hall on Sturt street. Cheers

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
7 Reviews
70% Trust
0 Compliments
700 Points
 (5/5)
6th September 2013 9:31 am
Tried Vanilah based on feedback on this site, they are fantastic. Emily now cuts and colours my hair and she does a great job. Also get provided with a quote beforehand so no nasty surprises when I go to pay. Service is first rate.

Quality
Service
Value



Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:45 am

Thank you for your review. Quoting first is so important, much nicer to sit back and relax than worry about how much its going to cost. Also our staff are much happier to work to your budget and get the best outcome s for your budget than have a client leave un happy with price. Its a win win. Susan unfortunately Emily is no longer with us but I have up most confidence that we can continue to look after you to the same standards. Please contact me if you have any concerns. Kindest Regards Michelle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
21st August 2013 3:17 pm
Having a very bad experience with another salon I was a little worried about trusting another hairdresser. After a friend recommended Vanilah to me I thought I would make an appointment. From my first appointment Emily was honest and really cared about her clients. I was looking to cut my long hair off and change colour. Most salons would just do it regardless of how it would actually look. Emily gave me some great advice about what would suit me better and worked out a plan to achieve this. After my great experience on the first appointment I was more than happy to go back a week later to start the cutting of my hair. I just LOVE my new hair style and the great advise from Emily and Michelle. Highly recommend this salon to anyone! Looking forward to my next appointment :) Thank you so much Emily!!

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
$96

Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:49 am

Thank You Nicole and I have to say your hair certainly was looking much better at your last visit. I really love helping people improve their hair challenges. Not everyone always follows the advice the way you did. Well done to you:) Thank you for putting up a reiview. Cheers Michelle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
26th July 2013 1:49 pm
Best hairdresser in ballarat. I've been going to the lovely rebecca for over a year now. She is a amazling talented hairdresser. Always exceeding me expectations. Always leave feeling beautiful. Tori gives amazing head massages. Great experience every time!

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
180

Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 10:51 am

Hi Sam, Thank you for the review. Rebecca is fantastic and consistently exceeds my expectations as well. Good work Rebecca. Cheers Michellle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
45 Reviews
100% Trust
11 Compliments
1,865 Points
 (4/5)
17th July 2013 4:39 pm
Michelle has a brilliantly talented and friendly team at her gorgeous upmarket salon.

Yet sadly I can no longer afford the $240 (full-head of foils, cut & blow wave) plus optional $30 (deep conditioning treatment at the wash basin).

My hair has always looked gorgeous and felt great whenever I've left this salon.

My only disappointment was my last couple of visits I felt very pressured to buy hair products there as the hairdressers will keep asking and asking you what products you use and just won't let go of the topic until you simply give in to buy a product there and then they stop badgering you. Unfortunately it was a very obvious ' selling push ', which made me feel very uncomfortable. I guess the staff there must think if you can afford their hair salon prices then buying products there won't break the bank for you.

If you can afford to go here I recommend no other salon but here but if not maybe make it for a special occasion to treat yourself.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
$240

Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 11:00 am

Thank you for the complements. I'm sadden to hear that we wont get to play with your hair any more. Particularly because we have a strong quote before we start policy. I am also surprised to hear that you have a full head every time as most of our blondes only have a full head every 3rd visit.Your feed back regarding product sales is important and will be used in our training for all staff including my self as I strongly believe we are here to fix hair problems not sell product. Thank you for all of your feed back. I hope I do get to do your hair again. Kindest Regards Michelle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
12th July 2013 10:22 am
Went to get my hair done yesterday ( cut and colour) and was amazed by the outstanding customer service. I really don't think my hair has ever looked so good it wasn't rushed and I was asked alot of questions and I really liked how there was a quote done first so you can work with in a budget. Big thumbs up

Quality
Service
Value



Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 11:02 am

Wow 5 stars all the way thank you. Cheers Michelle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
7th July 2013 4:31 pm
I've had great experiences going to Vanilah. The staff is always welcoming and very professional.

I normally get my hair cut by Bronwyn. She is a fantastic stylist; she listens to what you want and always gives an awesome, stylish cut. I always leave feeling great.

I also recently got a haircut from Emily, she was great as well, really friendly and gave me an excellent cut.

Highly recommend Vanilah!

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
45

Comments

By Business Owner 14th November 2013 11:04 am

Hi Sam, Bron had a baby girl Harmony and she is supper cute! Bron is starting to talk about coming back to work soon so we will keep you all posted via our facebook page. Thank you for the review Cheers

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
450 Points
 (5/5)
28th June 2013 12:54 pm
Thank you Emily for a great experience. I have had nothing but compliments for my new cut and colour. My experience at Vanilah was lovely.

Quality
Service
Value


 
1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
13th June 2013 5:01 pm
Really fantastic. Emily helped me make decisions on changing styles when i was completely clueless on what i wanted. Great knowledge of products and styles for men and just a really great haircut. Friendly service and great professionalism.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
45

Comments

By Business Owner 14th June 2013 2:11 pm

Hi Peter, That is great feedback. If you need any help with your new look dont hesitate to pop in, otherwise enjoy, I hope you are receiving loads of complements!!! Kind Regards Michelle

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
This business has 82 reviews. Click below to show the next page.

1   2   3   4   5   Next

You can contact this business on 03 5333 4533

What is WOMO?

It's the best way to find out what businesses are really like before you use them.

All reviews are from real customers (we have several ways of checking) so you can find out which businesses care about customers and provide good service.