Customer Reviews for Mercy Hospital For Women, 18 reviews

20 Jul 2013, 08:29 PM

I was a patient of the Mercy for the birth of my baby and can only speak highly of the medical staff who took care of us!

I had a private Obstetrician who recommended I booked in at the Mercy because its a large hospital and can deal with medical emergencies if something like that was to occur. Also my Obstetrician treats patients there and delivers babies at this hospital.

The nurses who took care of me were absolutely lovely, friendly and reassuring. They were friendly, ready to assist me with teaching me how to take care of a newborn which is something every new mum needs!!

After birth there were complications involving myself, immediately the nurse pressed the emergency buzzer and a team of medical staff were in my room to deal with the situation.

I cannot speak highly of the staff who held my hand throughout the ordeal, telling me everything was going to be okay. Most importantly, I was taken care of immediately and treated. I was humbled at being treated with such kindness during a difficult time.

I had a private room (thanks to private health insurance) which was clean and comfortable.

Highly recommend this hospital!!!!

sandrad171 20 Jul 2013, 10:49 PM · 100% Trust

What a good review. It's very reassuring.

sandrad171 20 Jul 2013, 10:49 PM · 100% Trust

What a good review. It's very reassuring.

16 Jun 2012, 11:50 PM

I had to go to emergency here once before and founf they were very fast and effectient and helped us out a lot

Anonymous
23 Aug 2011, 09:59 AM

I was admitted at 34 weeks with pre eclampsia, and induced at 36 weeks my little girl had stopped growing i cannot fault the staff over the 2 and a half weeks I was a patient and the 3 weeks my daughter spent in nicu and special care. They are amazing staff each and everyone person I dealt with. Will def be going back their for number 2

Approximate cost: $0

12 Jul 2011, 11:31 PM

I was recently treated at Mercy for an early pregnancy loss. I was seen twice in emergency and once in imaging for an ultrasound. I would describe every staff member I encountered as amazing! The three Doctors i saw who were all three professional, informative, genuine, honest and caring. The ultrasound technician was wonderfully warm and kind and sensitive while remaining informative. Even while facing a long and uncomfortable wait in the waiting area I was offered warm blankets, drinks and even my choice of television channel. These things seem of little importance but the feeling of actually being cared for was invaluable.

I could not recommend this hospital more highly and am looking forward to my next pregnancy, confident that I will be cared for by the best possible team in the friendliest environment with the most modern facilities available.

Approximate cost: $Nil

07 Sep 2010, 02:18 AM

Treated well and its a clean modern place the service is good midwives are nice and they look after you theres also nice cafes and resturants to relax at

08 Jun 2010, 05:53 PM

I spent two weeks there in 2009. whilst i know public hospitals are stretched at times i found it insensitive to place women with newborns in with women who are at risk of losing their baby. Also this hospital has by far the worst hospital food ever and that's saying something!

19 Feb 2010, 07:43 PM

I cannot speak more highly of the labour experience at the Mercy hospital and will still tell anyone who listens how fantastic the staff are.
During labour i saw all different doctors at visits and didnt mind waiting as its a hospital and u need to be realistic that there will be a wait to see someone.
On the actual day my experience was fantastic, my labour was so long ihad that many different midwives as their shifts were overlappiing each others, after delivering my son they asked if i was breast or bottle feeding,being young and a first time mum i apprehensively said bottle feeding. no one judged me like iwas worried about and they were very respectful of all my decisions. up on the wards all the nurses, even the old ones, were amazing and patient and caring. the after care was terrific and i cant express anymore how much i recommend this hospital. the facilites, experience and level of service was fantastic. i actually enjoyed my labour and probably wouldnt be able to say that if i went somewhere else!

Approximate cost: $0

Anonymous
01 Feb 2010, 01:25 AM

I was treated by inexperienced doctors and midwives that keep having to ask experience staff and making us wait a long time for a decision. I have been overdue and had booked in for inducement. The day came and was told to go home because the babies head was not engaged and told to come in the next day and check if the babies head was engaged. I came back the next day after much money spent going up and down and paying for parking and sure enough the babies head was engaged however I was knocked back again even though it was booked. I got upset and told staff that they are incompetant and cannot make up there minds. After much dispute the midwife told me there was not enough beds or staff even though it was booked. My husband and I have been so disgusted that he rang and spoke to a staff member and told them exaclty what he thought and that he was going to pull me out of that hospital so we can have our baby elsewhere due to their incompetance and lies. As soon as we got home the registrar from the hospital called and claimed that it was a mistake on their behalf and they should honor the booking made. So we started putting my bags in the car again as we were about to leave for the hospital we got another call from the registrar saying that its not in our best interest to induce the baby and to come again on monday and wait another 3-4 hours to see a doctor again for a check up. I thought this woman must be schytso and cannot make up her mind.. WE HAVE HAD ENOUGH DO NOT GO TO THIS HOSPITAL THEY CANNOT MAKE UP THEIR MINDS POORLY RUN HOSPITAL.

JamesS2 01 Feb 2010, 01:29 AM · 60% Trust

I had a similar experience at that hospital I was in active labour 5 minutes apart and this inexperienced didnt know what they were doing doctor sent me home. Out of frustration and anger I asked my husband to drive me to the Royal Womans and they took me in with open arms my suggestion is you do the same.

Anonymous
04 Jan 2010, 06:53 PM

I was not planning to have my first baby at the mercy but was transferred via ambulance from Mitcham Private because I was 31 weeks pregnant and my water had broke and the contraction were about 3 minutes apart. The birthing staff were fantastic except for the 10 people in the room at the time eg.. 6 for baby and 4 for me. The NICU staff nurses and doctors were fantastic and very supportive at the time of need. Once my daughter was transferred from NICU to SCN the support was alot less and not personal. Food was great for a public hospital. I was kicked out in 2 days which I still had not established expressing so needed a little more time. Parking is hell $18 a day add's up is you are there everyday and you don't get a discount until you have been there for about 2 weeks.

Approximate cost: $0

20 Aug 2009, 09:32 PM

I was cared for by the wonderful midwives at the Family Birth Centre throughout my pregnancy. They were informative, supportive of me as a first time mum and ran a great antenatal class. When I went into labour I was transferred out of the Family Birth Centre for precautionary continuous monitoring. The midwife who attended the birth of my daughter was very special. She read my birth preferences and did everything she could to keep to my wishes including keeping the doctors from getting involved where it wasn't necessary. After the safe arrival of my daughter, she arranged a lovely private room upstairs where my partner could stay with me for the 2 days I was in hospital with my new baby. I was blown away by the warm, caring and supportive staff at the Mercy during my stay. The room was comfortable, spacious, beautifully decorated and made me feel great. As a public patient, I was left wondering why you would pay for private health insurance when you get such great care in the public system at the Mercy.
The after-care has also been excellent - two visits to my home by midwives on day 1 and 2 after leaving hospital, day-stays in the Mercy Breastfeeding Support Centre and a Physiotherapy class for my well-being.

Approximate cost: $0

Earn Vouchers and Rewards

Customers! You can earn vouchers simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account