Supermarkets & Convenience > Melbourne Metro > Blackburn North > Maxi Foods Supermarket

Maxi Foods Supermarket, Blackburn North

Address:
66-104 Springfield Rd
Blackburn North, VIC 3130
Blackburn Square Shopping Centre

Tel: 03 9877 7...
Email this business
Visit Website


Customer Reviews for Maxi Foods Supermarket (12 reviews)

 

1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
300 Points
 (5/5)
30th January 2013 10:36 am
Unique lines for sale and very good value and quality- I go there for things I can't get elsewhere - and then do all my shopping there! Sometimes the lines I specifically want are sold out, and I have to go back a day or so later but it is worth it. .

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
100.00
 

Other Recommended Businesses


   18 reviews

"if it's freshness you're looking for, this is the place to be. fresh fuits and veggies. very healthy. you'll be encouraged to take up a healthy d..."

   11 reviews

"The flavours are fantastic & very well priced but the most important thing for me was the customer service. If I get stuck or need some advice I ..."

   6 reviews

"I have always found gorgeous clothes, of fantastic quality to wear and the customer service is amazing. . . . Absolutely love Labels and Love! A ..."



 

1 Reviews
10% Trust
1 Compliments
305 Points
 (5/5)
3rd September 2012 10:17 pm
Heaps better than Woolies and Coles, MAXI is always the same price or cheaper.

The staff are always friendly and willing to help.

Much more variety, all the normal products and brands plus a lot of 'fine foods' and organic products. Also a lot of focus on Australian made and owned products.

Fruit and Veg is very good quality, Meat is good quality and cheaper especially if you buy in bulk. They also do their own fresh squeezed orange juice in 2 litre bottles which is one of our favourite things to buy.

They also still give 4c per litre discount at the nearby service station.

We shop at MAXI all the time and we are very happy to have an alternative to Coles and Woolies. We hope they open more stores around Melbourne.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
50
 

23 Reviews
100% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
7th October 2010 3:46 pm
Its close to other shops making it a good location the fresh produce is always nice and there is also market day which is always great value for money a nice selection of everyday groceries and other products

Quality
Service
Value


 
4 Reviews
70% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
4th August 2010 10:32 pm
nice and friendly staff , good prices , has every day need , has produce section , good location

Quality
Service
Value


 
16 Reviews
85% Trust
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (2/5)
24th June 2010 3:20 am
I find that when buying fresh meat it often goes off in fridge before useby date, at least 2days often. I have also over heard a other customers telling a manager the same thing and her reply to the customer was we cant refund you anymoney on off fresh meat as we dont know it hasnt happened from the way you store it to get it home!! I thought this sad they obviously get complaints but dont look into them properly. I also find the staff quite rude talking to each other while serving you at timres or wont speak at all. however they do have the odd good bargain on their shelf.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
$50
 

20 Reviews
80% Trust
2 Compliments
220 Points
 (4/5)
18th May 2010 7:00 pm
Good value for money. They don't waste their time on fancy advertising or anything like that. Their staff have been very helpful towards me (my poartner works their) and other shoppers I have seen in the store. Go shop and see if you save

Quality
Service
Value



Comments

By jacintab - 90% Trust 24th June 2010 3:22 am

Bias as if your going to say something negative if your parner works their you gotta eat!

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
2 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (3/5)
30th December 2009 8:57 pm
The groceries here seem more expensive than other major supermarket.

The specials offered here are sometimes good though.

It is very difficult to get the staff to help you especially with finding things around the store.


Quality
Service
Value


 
11 Reviews
90% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
19th April 2008 3:28 pm
One of the reasons I choose to shop here is because I am boycotting Coles and Safeway due to the disgraceful supermarket monopoly they share.

Another reason is the variety: there are the usual familiar brands, but also lots of boutique brands with great products -- a bit of "David Jones food hall" about it. Not really any more expensive than other supermarkets, in my experience.

The fruit and veg are great quality, and the meat is worth shopping here in itself!! Really good.

There are also great specials from time to time (Huggies bulk nappies boxes for $25 recently.)

And I love how the aisles have a through-way halfway along! Great if you forget something.

Quality
Service
Value


The Good:
Unique brands as well as common ones, great meat, and fruit/veg
The Bad:
The fridge section has less variety than the local "Colesways"
 
14 Reviews
100% Trust
3 Compliments
200 Points
 (3/5)
12th December 2007 7:49 pm
This rating applies to the deli & fresh food area of the supermarket.

Now here is a supermarket deli that knows what a customer wants. When "Just Deli" at Blackburn Nth is closed, the Maxi deli is a very good alternative. They only cut small quantities of their meats at a time and often cover them with gladwrap to stop them drying out if they are a thin cut. Why other supermarkets don't use the "Maxi Method" to keep things from drying out I'll never know. A simple way of stopping food looking and tasting like it has been there for two weeks!

The staff are also efficient and as you would expect from a supermarket deli, there to get the job done with a smile but no chit chat.

The added bonus is the Philippa's bread range, coffee bean range and the eclectic mix of pre-baked pies, arancini (rice balls) and a fair range of pasta and pasta sauces nearby. Their fruit & vegie section is also reasonable for a supermarket and they stock a fair range but in small quantities. However it always seems like there is enough there to choose from (are they also restocking their vegies frequently?). Maxi is also one of the few supermarkets around that are still serving loose leaf lettuce, rocket and spinach instead of the pre packaged slush that coles and safeway are serving up.

Well done Maxi, for maintaining some integrity in the supermarket world!


Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
variable
The Good:
Interesting and freshly cut range in the deli.
The Bad:
None - above par for a supermarket deli.
 
24 Reviews
100% Trust
2 Compliments
210 Points
 (4/5)
11th December 2007 11:43 pm
I find that this store stocks a large number of products that aren't readily available at nearby Safeway and Coles stores (including lots of low-sodium products which can be hard to find). Their stock rotation is not as good as I would like (so it pays to check use-by dates on perishables), but their meat is always fresh and usually good value. I don't get their catalogue so I only find out about specials when I go to the store. Whilst they have some basic no-name products they aren't over-run with multiple levels of "own brand" products like You'll Love Coles, Coles Smart Buys, Woolworths Select etc... You don't have to pay to use the car park nor do you need a gold coin for the trolleys (unlike Box Hill Centro...) They also provide trolleys with baby capsules attached which is handy if shoping with and you don't want to push a trolley and a pram.

Quality
Service
Value


The Good:
Stocks some hard-to-find products; good meat department; isn't over-run with multiple levels of 'own brand' products
The Bad:
Stock rotation could be improved; catalogue distribution area could be extended
 
2 Reviews
80% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
3rd November 2007 1:46 am
I love the deli at Maxi, their meats are very cheap and always fresh. I find you never have to wait long to put your groceries through the checkout and if they are busy they will try and get another register opened quick. Their staff are very friendly. One annoyance is they dont do rainchecks anymore on sale items.

Quality
Service
Value


The Good:
Great Deli with nice and fresh cold meats.
The Bad:
No rainchecks and I dont receive their advertising material.
 
52 Reviews
100% Trust
11 Compliments
210 Points
 (4/5)
6th September 2007 7:59 am
This is one of the few shops in the Eastern suburbs where you can buy Jasper organic/Fair Trade coffee as loose beans. There are also other unusual lines stocked there. Huge health food section with heaps of Orgran products. Really friendly service too.

Quality
Service
Value


The Good:
GReat range and really friendly people at the checkouts who are interested in having a conversation with you!
The Bad:
Sometimes the coffee dispensers get jammed!
 

You can contact this business on 03 9877 7911

Sponsored Links


See other businesses like this that customers recommend.