Cafes > Dandenong Ranges > Mount Dandenong > Kallista Tea Rooms

Kallista Tea Rooms, Mount Dandenong

"Devonshire teas & scones Dandenongs - best scones in Melbourne - Gluten free cafe Dandenong Ranges"
103 Monbulk Rd
Mount Dandenong, VIC 3767

   


A great place for locals and visitors alike
 

Situated in the Dandenong Ranges, our menu is prepared by renowned chefs using many organic & local ingredients, including free range meats, organic eggs, organic herbs and honey.


Why Customers love us

 

  • Our meals can be complemented with carefully selected beer and wine from the Yarra Valley and surrounding regions - we are a fully licensed venue.
  • We also only use Fair Trade organic coffee and organic teas.
  • One of the few locations that offer all day breakfast!
  • If you enjoy Devonshire teas, our freshly baked scones are a real treat.  They are served with our home made locally sourced berries and double cream.
  • All of our cakes are made in-house and from fresh, local produce
  • We have a wide range of Gluten Free options, as well as Dairy free meals
  • We support local musicians and have live performances at the tea room!
  • Our cafe proudly displays artworks by local artists.
    Please contact us for further information if you are interersted in either displaying artworks or if you are interested in purchasing a displayed artwork.


Kallista Tearooms are a perfect place for your next gathering.  We are licensed and also available for function bookings.

We look forward to seeing you soon.


All this and much more, you will have to come by to see all that we have on offer!!
 

   


Opening Hours:  M: 8am - 5pm  T: 8am - 5pm  W: Closed  T: 8am - 5pm  F: 8am - 5pm  S: 8am - 5pm  S: 8am - 5pm  PHol:
Payment Methods:  Cash, VISA, Mastercard, EFTPOS

Customer Reviews for Kallista Tea Rooms, 44 reviews

5 Reviews
3 Compliments
1,530 Points
 (5/5)
22nd June 2012 10:13 pm - Our Favourite Review
"The service, food and especially the coffee is consistently good! Liz and Sandra are a great team - always friendly and happy to help. Lots of parking available and it's nice and warm in the winter! Whether you are a local or visiting the Dandenongs, be sure to visit Kallista Tea Rooms. "

By sandrar6 - 100% Trust 8th August 2012 10:53 am

"Thanks for the good review"

 
119 Reviews
39 Compliments
11,030 Points
 (3/5)
16th July 2013 5:20 pm
"We ordered hot chocolates and one serving of scones. On the postive side we loved the hot chocolates, they were made with chocolate powder and tasted nice and chocolatey much nicer than when hot chocolate is made with chocolate syrup. Scone wise we thought the mixed berry jam was absolutely delicious but the scones were heavy, doughy and a little under cooked. We were disappointed with the scones and did not think they were the best in the hills. I would return to the venue but not for the scones. Hopefully the scones will improve. We felt the price was a little on the high side but we don't eat out regularly so the price could very well compare with what's being charged elsewhere. The serving of jam and cream was not overly generous and we didn't feel we got good value for money "

By Business Owner 16th July 2013 9:07 am

"Thank you for your review. Our scones are usually lovely and I'm sorry that you weren't happy with them. We are always happy to replace any menu item that isn't as it should be. My apologies. In regards to the hot chocolates. I am very pleased that you enjoyed them and would like to comment that our hot chocolates are not made with powder but solid Lindt mini blocks of chocolate and sprinkled on top with organic fairtrade premium chocolate. Either way you enjoyed them so that's great. If you'd like to pop back in I'd be more than happy to offer you a serving of scones and make it up to you, for your less than satisfactory serving today. Just let me know when you come in. Thanks "

By carolinet1 - 100% Trust 16th July 2013 11:45 am

"thank you for your response and I will take up the offer. I wanted to say though that I am aware of the hot chocolate being made with Lindt chocolate and we opted to have our chocolates made with chocolate powder instead (as offered to us by your staff)."

 

1 Reviews
60% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
9th July 2013 1:38 am
"I love the burgers, they are the best in my opinion, if you go there please try the burgers :D

and I love the milkshakes as well :)"
 
33 Reviews
7 Compliments
2,545 Points
 (5/5)
23rd May 2013 5:34 pm
"We return here time and time again just for the hot chocolates! made from lindt chocolates, they are served in a large glass. The cakes are all delicious too. Service is quick and the staff are very friendly and attentive. There are several cosy couches, as well as small tables and large communal tables.

The restaurant is open most saturday nights, but book ahead to make sure.

The atmosphere is super cosy, with fairy lights and decorations around the room."

By MazB35 - 100% Trust 23rd May 2013 8:02 pm

"hot chocolate made from lindt sounds divine!! I was not aware of any cafes which made their hot choc using lindt, so I will keep this place in mind "

By babenreviewer - 100% Trust 24th September 2013 2:19 am

"omg lindt hot chocolates that would taste so amazing & rich xx"

 
2 Reviews
0 Compliments
1,000 Points
 (5/5)
19th April 2013 5:02 pm
"I must admit I live local and go quite often, but why wouldnt you. A very casual warm atmosphere that makes you want to stay all day (if you have the time), terrific coffee just as you order it, great value for money meals/treats that taste great and homely and smiling friendly service every time. Thanks guys."
 
111 Reviews
58 Compliments
19,325 Points
 (4/5)
9th January 2013 11:29 pm
"Top quality and fresh ingredients. Nice food,drinks.

service could do with improvement though. They seem a little too laid back. the staff were very nice and friendly and easy to talk to but in the service sense they weren't as warm and inviting. Prices are also a little high I think. Beautiful freshly made food though. i'd be happy to come again.

When dining here If you sit near the window you can observe the cockatoos,rosellas that frequent around the establishment. "
 
7 Reviews
0 Compliments
1,110 Points
 (5/5)
9th November 2012 7:10 am
"My favourite coffee in the hills! Love the ambience. Great food and very filling. Try the awesome scones. Great customer service too"

By MazB35 - 100% Trust 9th November 2012 12:11 pm

"sounds nice! do they serve Devonshire tea?"

By Jezzy - 70% Trust 11th November 2012 6:14 am

"No they don't have Devonshire tea, but I had scones on their own with a Lindt hot chocolate which had real pieces of chocoloate in it :) yum"

By summa130 - 100% Trust 23rd May 2013 8:21 pm

"We went there today and they had a sign offering devonshire teas- maybe a new service? I think it was around $10..."

 
4 Reviews
0 Compliments
620 Points
 (2/5)
13th October 2012 12:51 pm
"Had lunch with a couple of friends, one from the hills area, and another from overseas. The service was slow (slower than usual) and when my order did arrive it was the wrong one. I shared my friend's lunch and then gave her my complimentary lunch, which had been made by the manager, to take home.

I was hungry and by the time the first incorrect order came, I was over it. We all felt that we had been waiting too long and it wasn't as if it was really busy. We had our day to get on with and what started as a quick bite to eat, became drawn out. We spent over an hour getting lunch, which was a pide bread with filling! Now how hard can that be. It had been my suggestion to come to the tea-rooms rather than the Kallista Deli and I was left to feel that I'd chosen wrongly.

I was rather miffed with the waitress who seemed more interested in her bad jokes (the food was 'sun-baking' and it seemed that she would have preferred to be away from the cafe sun-baking too) than in excellent customer service."
 
7 Reviews
0 Compliments
1,015 Points
 (5/5)
10th September 2012 11:39 am
"Like stepping back in time. Must go to this place for coffee and scones, they are the best!! Not as well known as some but yet they are the best in the hills! You won't he disapointed. "

By sandrar6 - 100% Trust 10th September 2012 12:41 pm

"Thanks for the great review."

 
45 Reviews
3 Compliments
1,025 Points
 (3/5)
22nd July 2012 7:50 pm
"I have been to this tea room a number of times over the years but when I recently visited I felt the scones have gone down hill. I only ever order the scones & there has definitely been a change. Scones were doughy & smaller than norm also the jam wasn't nice and the cream portion was very small. Service was friendly & efficient however."
 
30 Reviews
17 Compliments
2,275 Points
 (5/5)
24th June 2012 11:09 pm
"We took my elderly mother to Kalista Tea Rooms for her 90th birthday and we all loved it. Great drive through the hills to get there with great views. Had a wonderful time and highly recommend."
 
8 Reviews
2 Compliments
1,465 Points
 (5/5)
18th June 2012 2:42 pm
"Fantastic friendly service, great location and lots of space to chill out (plus lots of parking). The burgers are awesome but only available after 11. Before then, try the breakfast baguette"
 
105 Reviews
27 Compliments
5,260 Points
 (4/5)
31st May 2012 8:39 pm
"This is a must stop place in the Dandenongs, the coffee is wonderful and the desserts just scrumptious!!"

By sandrar6 - 100% Trust 8th August 2012 10:53 am

"Thanks for the good review"

 
208 Reviews
13 Compliments
6,400 Points
 (5/5)
16th February 2012 6:18 pm
" I LOVE kcal lists tea rooms ever since I visited here with my friend over the Xmas break! We had a gorgeous meal from the all day breakfast menu and loved it!! And yumm coffee too!!"
 
11 Reviews
1 Compliments
500 Points
 (4/5)
31st October 2011 5:21 pm
"I have come here quite a few times. The staff are always friendly, the food is yummy and they serve coffee in bowls! :)"

By sandrar6 - 100% Trust 8th August 2012 10:54 am

"Thanks for the good review"

 
3 Reviews
1 Compliments
220 Points
 (5/5)
14th October 2011 12:54 pm
"I have had the pleasure of dining twice at the tearooms and the food, service and attitude of staff was outstanding. I also had to make several changes to my reservation and it was never a problem. I also used vouchers and was NOT made to feel like a second rate customer. I WILL be returning as a happily full paying customer in the near future."

By babenreviewer - 100% Trust 24th September 2013 2:21 am

"i'm so glad to hear that! whenever i use a voucher the service usually gets worse!"

 
2 Reviews
5 Compliments
340 Points
 (4/5)
11th September 2011 1:29 pm
"Always an absolute pleasure to drop into these tea rooms. The baguettes are very generous, both in size and filling. The coffee is great. Great tasting soups. Good variety, and a lovely outlook. The staff are always friendly, as is the owner. We love having it as one of our "local" drop in places"
 
10 Reviews
3 Compliments
260 Points
 (5/5)
15th August 2011 10:52 pm
"Amazing food, really flavoursome & great variety. Service is fantastic, staff go the extra mile to make you happy. Lovely cosy cottage like atmosphere, oh & did I mention they make great coffee & chai lattes! "
 
11 Reviews
1 Compliments
205 Points
 (5/5)
24th July 2011 5:32 pm
"What a fantastic meal the whole family had. Recently these guys have changed their menu and they have obviously thought about it. The Beef Ragout and parsnip mash was a real winner and for something a little different was the platter, pumpkin frittata, pesto arancini, buckwheat and vegetable tabouli, with a smoked salmon and goats cheese tartlette. For someone like me who loves their meat this was something I would certainly have again, and again and....."
 
7 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
4th July 2011 2:20 pm
"Love this place the staff are very attentive and friendly, the food is awesome the setting is magical. Love the feeding of the birds then watching them out the window. A really pleasant place to meet up with friends for a late breakfast or lunch."
 
You can telephone Kallista Tea Rooms on 03 9755 2659
This business has 44 reviews. Click below to show the next page.

1   2   3   Next