Cafes > Melbourne Metro > Mentone > Java Cafe

Java Cafe, Mentone

63 63 Florence St
Mentone, VIC 3194

Customer Reviews for Java Cafe, 19 reviews

140 Reviews
0 Compliments
7,000 Points
 (5/5)
28th August 2014 9:44 pm
"this place is fantastic. great location friendly staff the place is quite big and very welcoming. i love the coffees and a variety of food they served. kids love it"
 
9 Reviews
0 Compliments
1,690 Points
 (5/5)
12th February 2014 1:45 pm
"You get a hellova lot of food for your buck. Great place to take the family out for a meal the food is top notch, the staff are good ad the place is a beaut. One of my favourite places to dine"
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
10th February 2014 10:55 am
"I have been going to Java since it opened, it's food is top quality.

Java have the best bircher museli in Melbourne!!!!

The red headed barista makes great thickshakes:)"
 

21 Reviews
100% Trust
1 Compliments
620 Points
 (4/5)
2nd September 2012 12:16 pm
"They have great friendly staff, they might be quick or slow at serving the food some days, although waiting for it isn't a problem when what you receive will be great tasting"
 
25 Reviews
1 Compliments
305 Points
 (3/5)
7th January 2012 10:27 am
"ive been here a few times. normally really beautiful food and friendly staff. although the last time i was there we had the manager serve us. we had a table of about 10 people and she got a few of the orders wrong, and then refused to change it to the correct food that my friends had ordered. and she was quite rude about it."
 

1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (5/5)
29th December 2011 11:58 am
"The most AMAZING eggs benedict I have ever had in my entire life!

Staff fantastic, always service with a smile! Meals not priced unreasonably, especially not for the fantastic meals you receive!!"
 
4 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
28th February 2011 9:59 pm
"Dropped in for a very pleasant cappuccino one day and noticed that they also do meals in the evenings. Came back on Friday for their seafood special. Despite a moderate price for seafood we found that they hadn't held back on the quality or quantity. A delightful platter of oysters, prawns, fish, calamari, chips and salad. We'll be back soon!"
 
28 Reviews
5 Compliments
1,000 Points
 (5/5)
26th February 2011 11:36 am
"This is a real gem, and with a bit of publicity you wouldn't be able to get in the door once the word gets out! A special is offered for dinner Wed-Sunday with Parma, Steaks, Seafood, Pasta and on Sunday kids under 12 eat free. The specials are each priced differently, with the seafood platter for 1 (Fri special) being the most expensive at $20. We were delighted at the seafood we received, grilled fish, 4 oysters, calamari rings, 2 giant prawns, salad and the best chips I've ever had! We were on a Harley so we didn't check out the wine (don't drink on the bike) and we went for the seafood platter so we didn't check out the rest of the menu, but the value for the seafood platter can't be beat! If the rest of the dishes are half as good as the seafood, you won't be disappointed! The food is on par with a fine dining experience and shouldn't be thought of as "just a cafe". They do functions and catering as well and if I ever have the need for either, they will be my first stop. The "ambiance" is very much like a cafe, clean and comfortable, but not much on the romantic side but the food makes up for it! The coffee was really nice too. I'd like to have Equal or Splenda offered instead of "the pink stuff" for sweeteners. As for my rating on service, in Oz, I'd say most would give the service 5 stars as well, but my 4 stars is probably a cultural thing. As an American, I prefer to have someone come to the table and take my order than go to a register and be handed a table number. The only time "service" came into the picture was watching someone wipe down tables and our food was brought to us. On that basis, according to Oz standards, the service was a 5, friendly, smiling. Give these folks a visit you won't be disappointed! They are right off the Frankston Metro line at the Mentone station!"
 
39 Reviews
1 Compliments
205 Points
 (4/5)
7th December 2010 9:34 am
"Good coffee, friendly staff and good food. Serves are generous. Child friendly and very big and spacious for prams! Good decor and modern. Close to shops and playground."
 
41 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (3/5)
19th September 2010 7:52 pm
"Great food. Very decor. Conveniently and centrally located. A great meeting place after school or work."
 
21 Reviews
2 Compliments
210 Points
 (3/5)
12th September 2010 4:06 pm
"One of the nicer cafes in mentone, very large and nice wooden floors provide a lot of character to the place. Breakfast, salads and drinks are good here."
 
12 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (3/5)
7th August 2010 2:30 pm
"A nice big cafe, always bustling on weekends. They have a nice food selection and the coffee is great, probably one of the better cafes in Mentone."
 
140 Reviews
0 Compliments
7,000 Points
 (5/5)
18th May 2010 7:55 am
"place is amazing.the cake are so beautiful and very tasty.theres lots of tables and chairs to dine in which is good.definitely check it out great location"
 
2 Reviews
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (4/5)
29th March 2010 8:36 pm
"Nice and spacious area to dine in, not at all cramped. Meals well priced and well presented. Good choice on menu. Staff courteous and pleasant. We went for a family lunch six adults and four children enjoyed themselves immensely."
 
16 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
15th January 2010 2:53 pm
"Our party was greeted with a smile and our meals were top quality. The range of options was more than satisfactory - even for our vegetarian friend. The coffee really was a standout. They've just opened for dinner and we look forward to going back soon. Oh and they do take credit cards..."
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (1/5)
22nd March 2009 4:51 pm
"Have to pay cash. They dont take any cards.

Took 30 mins for them to make ne a chicken parma. I only ordered the parma because they had "sold out" of the ravioli. This is at 11.30am Sunday lunch. They already have a limited menu.

When i got it at least the waiter was courteous enough to apologise for the time it took.

The meal itself was terrible. I was put off from the first bite. It was very salty. They served the parma on top of chips, but they salted the chips heavily with sea salt. So the parma was ruined. The parma was disgusting in its own right. There was hardly any cheese, and no ham. Again they are obvoiusly cost cutting. The meat was tough and when i finally could cut through to the meat it was basically tastelenss. Oh... apart from the salt, the charred bread crumbs and the aftertase of oil that stayed with me for the rest of the day. By far the worst parma i have had anywhere!

Next surprise. The salad was quite nice, but after i finished it, i notice a piece of what looked like stale white chewing gum on my plate where the salad was.

I notified the manager on duty and he was reluctant to apologise, and the apology was completely insincere. He treated it as if it just did not matter! he was rude, and asked me to leave.

I didnt expect to be served rubbish, literally, and then humiliated by this wanna be bouncer.

Overall rating in the negative, and glad to never give them my business again!"

By mcrobert57 - 90% Trust 28th February 2011 9:55 pm

"Sorry to hear of a bad experience when mine was totally positive. And they DO take credit cards."

 
3 Reviews
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (3/5)
15th March 2009 9:34 pm
"Always good coffee and good food. Quick and tasty snacks. They have fair trade coffee at an extra cost, which is a great option! Sometimes gets a little noisy in there though."
 
3 Reviews
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (1/5)
24th August 2008 2:42 pm
"Terrible service. Table wasnt cleared for new customer even after being seated. Missed our order, when mentioned at the counter, it was served cold, when on the menu, it is listed warm.

Again went to the counter to mention what happened, and they asked us, what they should do about that.

A simple apology would have been a good start. Providing better service would be next step. Politeness may be a good thing to have when you are running a cafe. But who am I to say how they should run their shop. All I can do is not go there and share my experience with others.

"
 
68 Reviews
24 Compliments
305 Points
 (1/5)
19th September 2007 7:56 pm
"Visiting with a bunch of Mums and their prams, Java was unwilling to accommodate a group booking. On arrival, the staff were clearly unimpressed with 6 hungry mothers and their prams, gathering for a quick meal and warm drink. They didn't assist in putting together a group of tables and ignored all attempts at ordering, bordering on discrimination. Furthermore, they do not have credit/EFTPOS facilities making the experience even worse. Despite the comely decor, the service, staff attitude and food don't make for a good experience. In an area in bad need of good food, Java really blew it."
 
You can telephone Java Cafe on 03 9585 1002