Customer Reviews for Harry's Cafe de Wheels, 19 reviews

22 Jun 2014, 01:05 PM

4 hours ago I was sat at a table at this adorable place tucking into pie with mushy peas and gravy. I am now back at the campsite we're staying at and still salivating;wishing Harry's was situated just round the corner rather than 15 kms up the road. I have not had a pie and mushies as perfect as this since back in London in the 70s. In fact, it was better. The pie contained chunks of tender beef (not a skerrick of gristle) in a rish, slightly peppered gravy. Every mouthful was sheer bliss - the mushy peas were just as blissful. This divine place only serves pies, hot dogs and pasties but they do them very well indeed. 5 pie varieties (inc. vegetarian) and 3 hot dog types. Hubby had a dog and pronounced it lip-smackingly good. We'll be making the drive next Sunday morning for more of the same! BTW: just $5.80 for the pie and mushies. A bargain.

06 Oct 2013, 09:54 PM

I went here a couple of weeks ago & it was my first time & I can't believe I haven't been here before- it was amazing.I got the pie with potato & mushy pies & it was fantastic.The prices are very reasonable & it's in a great location.They were busy but it didn't take long to be served & was well worth the wait.I highly recommend going here & trying the pies as you will not be disappointed.Can't wait to go back.

19 Sep 2013, 02:59 PM

Harry's Cafe De Wheels is a great little pie place. Love the pies, they are always hot and taste fresh. The extra topping of mushy peas, mash potato and gravy are amazing. Will be going back to here.

08 Sep 2013, 12:34 PM

What a great little cafe this is, we've had pies from here and they are quite nice. You can get added toppings for me i got the mashed potato but my husband had both mashed potato and mushy peas. The staff were friendly and the price was reasonable, we will go back again.

Approximate cost: $7.00

Anonymous
20 Aug 2013, 10:34 AM

I had lunch at Harry's today with some friends. One friend got the curry beef tiger pie, and myself and another got the regular tiger beef pies. The tiger pies come with mashed potatoes, mashed split peas, and gravy on top. We also bought a regular hot dog.

The meat pies were actually pretty good ($6.80 a piece). The beef was tender and a lot of love and care went into the other toppings (the mashed potatoes and split peas were clearly home-made). While the pies look small, keep in mind that you are eating at least four layers of food (the pie crust, beef, mashed potatoes, and split peas). None of my party was left hungry after eating our individual pie.

On the other hand, the hot dog was not that great. Actually, it was pretty bad. I'd stick to getting the meat pies and leave the hot dogs to others who specialize in them.

14 Feb 2013, 10:47 AM

i love this place it is a nice location, fantastic quality food, filling too, great service and well i could go on for ages about this place, suffice it to say all my experiences have been great.


Review under investigation
This review is currently being investigated by the WOMO team and it does not affect the business' overall rating. This review will either be confirmed or removed once our inquiry is complete.
08 Feb 2013, 02:44 PM

What an awesome little place. I have frequented here on a number of times late late at night. My friends and I see it as a bit of tradition to visit harry's on a night out in town. Try it and you will too.

29 Jan 2013, 07:43 PM

Great little place! Great food! Great Locations!! Service was ok could have been with a smile but all in all great little place!!

Well go back for sure!!

29 Jan 2013, 07:21 PM

Best hot dogs and pies around town!

If your in the area dont miss harry's.

Always great food,friendly service and tasty food! There's a hotdog called 'chilli dog' - best hotdog you will ever have in you're life!

The place is always clean and tidy and the old train has good photos to check out.

16 Dec 2011, 08:30 AM

This is a great pit stop for a quick bite to eat. Make sure you're hungry and then get a delicious pie with mash and peas on top! Fantastic. Also open late for drunken hungry fools. Brilliant.

Business Awards

2013 Service Award

Earn Vouchers and Rewards

Customers! You can earn vouchers simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account