Burgers & Take-away > Newcastle > Newcastle > Harry's Cafe de Wheels

Harry's Cafe de Wheels, Newcastle

Customer Reviews for Harry's Cafe de Wheels, 18 reviews

31 Reviews
3 Compliments
5,640 Points
 (5/5)
22nd June 2014 1:05 pm
"4 hours ago I was sat at a table at this adorable place tucking into pie with mushy peas and gravy. I am now back at the campsite we're staying at and still salivating;wishing Harry's was situated just round the corner rather than 15 kms up the road. I have not had a pie and mushies as perfect as this since back in London in the 70s. In fact, it was better. The pie contained chunks of tender beef (not a skerrick of gristle) in a rish, slightly peppered gravy. Every mouthful was sheer bliss - the mushy peas were just as blissful. This divine place only serves pies, hot dogs and pasties but they do them very well indeed. 5 pie varieties (inc. vegetarian) and 3 hot dog types. Hubby had a dog and pronounced it lip-smackingly good. We'll be making the drive next Sunday morning for more of the same! BTW: just $5.80 for the pie and mushies. A bargain.

"
 
100 Reviews
25 Compliments
12,430 Points
 (5/5)
6th October 2013 9:54 pm
"I went here a couple of weeks ago & it was my first time & I can't believe I haven't been here before- it was amazing.I got the pie with potato & mushy pies & it was fantastic.The prices are very reasonable & it's in a great location.They were busy but it didn't take long to be served & was well worth the wait.I highly recommend going here & trying the pies as you will not be disappointed.Can't wait to go back."
 
129 Reviews
14 Compliments
6,850 Points
 (5/5)
19th September 2013 2:59 pm
"Harry's Cafe De Wheels is a great little pie place. Love the pies, they are always hot and taste fresh. The extra topping of mushy peas, mash potato and gravy are amazing. Will be going back to here."
 
121 Reviews
28 Compliments
15,595 Points
 (5/5)
8th September 2013 12:34 pm
"What a great little cafe this is, we've had pies from here and they are quite nice. You can get added toppings for me i got the mashed potato but my husband had both mashed potato and mushy peas. The staff were friendly and the price was reasonable, we will go back again. "
 

10 Reviews
90% Trust
0 Compliments
900 Points
 (5/5)
20th August 2013 10:34 am
"I had lunch at Harry's today with some friends. One friend got the curry beef tiger pie, and myself and another got the regular tiger beef pies. The tiger pies come with mashed potatoes, mashed split peas, and gravy on top. We also bought a regular hot dog.

The meat pies were actually pretty good ($6.80 a piece). The beef was tender and a lot of love and care went into the other toppings (the mashed potatoes and split peas were clearly home-made). While the pies look small, keep in mind that you are eating at least four layers of food (the pie crust, beef, mashed potatoes, and split peas). None of my party was left hungry after eating our individual pie.

On the other hand, the hot dog was not that great. Actually, it was pretty bad. I'd stick to getting the meat pies and leave the hot dogs to others who specialize in them."
 
25 Reviews
3 Compliments
2,760 Points
 (5/5)
14th February 2013 10:47 am
"i love this place it is a nice location, fantastic quality food, filling too, great service and well i could go on for ages about this place, suffice it to say all my experiences have been great. "
UNDER INVESTIGATION - This review is currently being investigated by the WOMO team and it does not affect the business' overall rating.
This review will either be confirmed or removed once our inquiry is complete.
 
23 Reviews
7 Compliments
2,385 Points
 (4/5)
8th February 2013 2:44 pm
"What an awesome little place. I have frequented here on a number of times late late at night. My friends and I see it as a bit of tradition to visit harry's on a night out in town. Try it and you will too."
 
61 Reviews
39 Compliments
4,195 Points
 (4/5)
29th January 2013 7:43 pm
"Great little place! Great food! Great Locations!! Service was ok could have been with a smile but all in all great little place!!

Well go back for sure!!"
 
117 Reviews
93 Compliments
9,670 Points
 (5/5)
29th January 2013 7:21 pm
"Best hot dogs and pies around town!

If your in the area dont miss harry's.

Always great food,friendly service and tasty food! There's a hotdog called 'chilli dog' - best hotdog you will ever have in you're life!

The place is always clean and tidy and the old train has good photos to check out.

"
 
16 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
16th December 2011 8:30 am
"This is a great pit stop for a quick bite to eat. Make sure you're hungry and then get a delicious pie with mash and peas on top! Fantastic. Also open late for drunken hungry fools. Brilliant."
 
40 Reviews
3 Compliments
230 Points
 (5/5)
7th December 2011 12:07 pm
"A must do tourist attraction in Newcastle. After living here for 5 years I finally got to experience the yummyness of the pies, outstanding."
 

28 Reviews
100% Trust
6 Compliments
245 Points
 (5/5)
28th February 2011 6:26 pm
"The pies are delicious. Especially with Mushy peas and mashed potato on top. It is on the foreshore so you can get a pie and walk along the Foreshore."
 
28 Reviews
3 Compliments
215 Points
 (5/5)
5th January 2011 11:47 pm
"This is a pie shop that is usually frequented after a night out on the town - but also on a Sunday afternoon.

Great quality pies - I can recommend the chicken and mushroom in particular. ALSO the mash and pea additional extras are yummy too.

Have had a hot dog from here also - they are as good a quality as you can expect from a hot dog. The hot dog de wheels is pretty spectacular as they go.

Service is fantastic - these guys are usually dealing with drunken people, and they are quite patient and friendly.

Great spot on the foreshore - on sunday arvo you can grab a pie and then sit and eat it with a great view!"
 
32 Reviews
1 Compliments
405 Points
 (4/5)
20th June 2010 4:25 pm
"Excellent pies and hot dogs, great spot on the foreshore. Just be sure to take extra money on public holidays and Sundays as there is a 10% surcharge."
 
21 Reviews
1 Compliments
220 Points
 (5/5)
11th June 2010 3:26 pm
"Great pies, mushy peas are the best. Lovely spot on the foreshore for a casual lunch on the weekend."
 
2 Reviews
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (4/5)
11th February 2010 6:22 pm
"On the foreshore of Newcastle, this is a great place to get a cheap feed and dine out or takeaway. My favourite is the tiger pie, with potato, mushy peas and gravy, yum!"
 
20 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
6th September 2009 5:14 pm
"The are near the warf and easy to get to, the price is great and the food fresh. You can sit there or take it away and its great for a snack when you need to keep moving. The Mushy Peas are the best!"
 
23 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
5th August 2009 10:41 am
"The perfect place to grab a quick lunch near the foreshore, or a satisfying snack after a late night on the town. Great quality pies for a reasonable price."
 
32 Reviews
1 Compliments
205 Points
 (3/5)
7th July 2009 8:54 pm
"great place to grab a pie or hot dog with the kids on the weekend, fast service at reasonable prices. Not the best cafe in newcastle, but a very good alternative to the fast food chains"
 
You can telephone Harry's Cafe de Wheels on 02 4926 2165