• Find a Business
  • Review a Business
  • Offers
> > > Gillies Bendigo Original Pie Shop

Gillies Bendigo Original Pie Shop, Bendigo

Address:
266 Hargraves Mall
Bendigo, VIC 3550
IN THE MALL

Tel: 03 5443 4...


Customer Reviews for Gillies Bendigo Original Pie Shop (13 reviews)

 
286 Reviews
100% Trust
40 Compliments
21,065 Points
 (2/5)
26th September 2013 6:30 pm
I've been here once, and once it will remain. The staff were rude, and pretty much ignored me, the floor was filthy, the tables were dirty, and there were flies everywhere.

They do have a big range of pastries, and the pie I had was quite nice, but I'll avoid them in the future because of the cleanliness issues.

Quality
Service
Value


 
 

There are 12 more reviews for Gillies Bendigo Original Pie Shop


Login for free to see these now...





Other Recommended Businesses


   11 reviews

"country cakes are very good. the staff are friendly and very good at what they do. they always seem to have a big sleection of cakes and also do..."

   8 reviews

"Brilliant and fast delivery! Plenty of qualityrecreational and educational toys and they are highly competitive prices so that really helps! I h..."

   22 reviews

"Gorgeous products at fantastic prices. A must see for anyone looking for that special piece for a loved one, just stunning pieces Friendly help..."



 

97 Reviews
100% Trust
15 Compliments
12,050 Points
 (3/5)
19th August 2013 6:07 pm
i am not a fan of gillies pies and i dont go to the one in pall mall anymore due to rude service and they are always so flat out, being short i noticed they seem to serve whoever pushes through first. they have a good range but i think the prices are too high.

Quality
Service
Value



Comments

By buddysgirl - 100% Trust 19th August 2013 6:25 pm

very busy shop

Flag as suspect or inappropriate
 
78 Reviews
100% Trust
19 Compliments
9,015 Points
 (2/5)
8th February 2013 1:00 pm
The staff here were ok.. although they couldn't help the fact that the company didn't have eptos and therefore suggested for me to walk down and get money out and then come back.. the range of pasteries were good.. but the prices were quite high.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
5.90
 
84 Reviews
100% Trust
28 Compliments
10,675 Points
 (2/5)
2nd February 2013 4:36 pm
Our first visit, even though we had walked past quite a number of times. Pies/rolls all looked tempting and were neatly displayed behind the counter. Service was good and food was taken out efficiently.

However, tables were quite messy and most were not cleaned promptly, despite the fact that they had more than enough staff to deal with customers. In the end, we had to sit at a dirty table, covered with crumbs and the remnants of other people's drinks. Good quality coffee is used here, but staff members would definitely benefit from more training, as the froth was not smooth & silky, but rather over-aerated. Sugar was not provided. When asked, the staff member produced one big plastic container of white sugar & scooped one teaspoon of sugar in for me. There was no offer of other types of sweeteners (artificial sweeteners, raw sugar, etc) just the big tub of sugar. It was quite disappointing & did not seem hygienic - no wonder there were quite a number of flies even on a cool breezy day. Milkshakes are pretty good and portion sizes are generous, though they're not quite thick enough.

Prices are reasonable though.

Quality
Service
Value


 
184 Reviews
100% Trust
19 Compliments
21,735 Points
 (4/5)
3rd July 2012 3:50 pm
A good location for a pie and cake shop. They have a very good selection of pies and are really scrumptious. Their coffee is quite good too. A good place for morning coffee or lunch.

Quality
Service
Value


 
741 Reviews
100% Trust
165 Compliments
66,315 Points
 (3/5)
5th June 2012 3:56 pm
Gillies has a large variety of pies, pasties, sausage rolls, cakes and slices which taste great. The walk up window is very convenient during busy times as they quickly serve you and so the line moves relatively fast. Only downside is the prices, they are more expensive than your average bakery however the food is only average quality. I would expect the food to be nicer for the prices that they charge. Still, it is a good bakery.

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
8
 
Anonymous Member
1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (5/5)
24th November 2010 9:32 pm
perfect customer service, top quality good! a lovely clean shop, with a beautiful eating area outside! always fresh food!

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
$7
 
7 Reviews
70% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
24th November 2010 9:30 pm
I would expect prices to be less than this for a pie but knowing they make them in store and you can watch them being made through the window is a treat, with the potato pie being the best I have eaten in Bendigo. The place gets packed at lunch times with BSSC kids filling the seats, but the service is never less than organised. More than I would usually pay for a pie

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
5
 
9 Reviews
50% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (3/5)
10th June 2010 12:56 pm
Gillies pies are great , been around for ages, the last couple of years though have been a bit dissapointing with flavour. It has changed a bit , they have introduced alot of other items in their attempt to increase sales and have dropped the ball in relation to the pies. 5 years ago would have nothing but a Gillies but now in the mall they have a new bakery eatery that has gorgeous foods and great pies so can see clientele will drop off and head up the mall toward the other food venues

Quality
Service
Value


Approx Cost:
25.00
 
20 Reviews
100% Trust
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (3/5)
20th April 2010 12:33 pm
The food at Gillies is quite good, as is the service, however as the prices are somewhat expensive, it makes one feel like they did not get the best value for money. The potato/sheperds pie is a must to try!

Quality
Service
Value


 
24 Reviews
100% Trust
1 Compliments
205 Points
 (5/5)
27th September 2009 8:16 am
Hot, crispy flaky pastry with tasty flavours that you just devour. Love their chunky beef (chunks of meat you can see) and beef with mushroom. Fresh doughnuts, crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. Have never had a fresher doughnut that this! They don't have frozen pies to take-away, however still worth stocking up on them

Quality
Service
Value


 
16 Reviews
80% Trust
3 Compliments
220 Points
 (4/5)
5th May 2009 8:10 pm
Gillies Gillies Gillies who could ask for more says it all they are really the best pies in victoria!! always smell nice and fresh when you walk in makes you want to buy more,

Quality
Service
Value


 
24 Reviews
100% Trust
3 Compliments
240 Points
 (4/5)
27th April 2009 1:06 pm
GILLIES MAKES THE GREATEST PIES IN ALL OF BENDIGO. THEY'RE FOOD IS FRESH, USES REAL MEAT, AND THERE VANILLA SLICES ARE EXCELLENT. THEY'RE ALSO RATHER RESONABLY PRICED.

Quality
Service
Value


The Good:
EXCELLENT PIES. THE BEST VANILLA SLICES.
The Bad:
CAN BE A LITTLE UNDERSTAFFED DURING THE LUNCH RUSH.
 

You can contact this business on 03 5443 4965

Sponsored Links


See other businesses like this that customers recommend.