Gillies Bendigo Original Pie Shop, Bendigo

based on 13 reviews

Customer Reviews for Gillies Bendigo Original Pie Shop, 13 reviews

26 Sep 2013, 06:30 PM

I've been here once, and once it will remain. The staff were rude, and pretty much ignored me, the floor was filthy, the tables were dirty, and there were flies everywhere.

They do have a big range of pastries, and the pie I had was quite nice, but I'll avoid them in the future because of the cleanliness issues.

19 Aug 2013, 06:07 PM

i am not a fan of gillies pies and i dont go to the one in pall mall anymore due to rude service and they are always so flat out, being short i noticed they seem to serve whoever pushes through first. they have a good range but i think the prices are too high.

buddysgirl 19 Aug 2013, 06:25 PM · 100% Trust

very busy shop

08 Feb 2013, 01:00 PM

The staff here were ok.. although they couldn't help the fact that the company didn't have eptos and therefore suggested for me to walk down and get money out and then come back.. the range of pasteries were good.. but the prices were quite high.

Approximate cost: $5.90

02 Feb 2013, 04:36 PM

Our first visit, even though we had walked past quite a number of times. Pies/rolls all looked tempting and were neatly displayed behind the counter. Service was good and food was taken out efficiently.

However, tables were quite messy and most were not cleaned promptly, despite the fact that they had more than enough staff to deal with customers. In the end, we had to sit at a dirty table, covered with crumbs and the remnants of other people's drinks. Good quality coffee is used here, but staff members would definitely benefit from more training, as the froth was not smooth & silky, but rather over-aerated. Sugar was not provided. When asked, the staff member produced one big plastic container of white sugar & scooped one teaspoon of sugar in for me. There was no offer of other types of sweeteners (artificial sweeteners, raw sugar, etc) just the big tub of sugar. It was quite disappointing & did not seem hygienic - no wonder there were quite a number of flies even on a cool breezy day. Milkshakes are pretty good and portion sizes are generous, though they're not quite thick enough.

Prices are reasonable though.

03 Jul 2012, 03:50 PM

A good location for a pie and cake shop. They have a very good selection of pies and are really scrumptious. Their coffee is quite good too. A good place for morning coffee or lunch.

05 Jun 2012, 03:56 PM

Gillies has a large variety of pies, pasties, sausage rolls, cakes and slices which taste great. The walk up window is very convenient during busy times as they quickly serve you and so the line moves relatively fast. Only downside is the prices, they are more expensive than your average bakery however the food is only average quality. I would expect the food to be nicer for the prices that they charge. Still, it is a good bakery.

Approximate cost: $8

Anonymous
24 Nov 2010, 09:32 PM

perfect customer service, top quality good! a lovely clean shop, with a beautiful eating area outside! always fresh food!

Approximate cost: $7

24 Nov 2010, 09:30 PM

I would expect prices to be less than this for a pie but knowing they make them in store and you can watch them being made through the window is a treat, with the potato pie being the best I have eaten in Bendigo. The place gets packed at lunch times with BSSC kids filling the seats, but the service is never less than organised. More than I would usually pay for a pie

Approximate cost: $5

10 Jun 2010, 12:56 PM

Gillies pies are great , been around for ages, the last couple of years though have been a bit dissapointing with flavour. It has changed a bit , they have introduced alot of other items in their attempt to increase sales and have dropped the ball in relation to the pies. 5 years ago would have nothing but a Gillies but now in the mall they have a new bakery eatery that has gorgeous foods and great pies so can see clientele will drop off and head up the mall toward the other food venues

Approximate cost: $25.00

20 Apr 2010, 12:33 PM

The food at Gillies is quite good, as is the service, however as the prices are somewhat expensive, it makes one feel like they did not get the best value for money. The potato/sheperds pie is a must to try!

Earn Vouchers and Rewards

Customers! You can earn vouchers simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account