Furr Hair, Newtown

"Hairdressers Newtown, Hairdressers Sydney, Hair Extensions, Dreadlocks & Maintenance, Make Up"
190 King St
Newtown, NSW 2042
Nearest intersection: King Street & Watkins Street (near Missenden Road)

Hair Salon & Fashion Emporium, Creating Street Edge Alternative Fashion since 1995.


Furr is located at 190 King Street, Newtown.  The Salon specialises in creating customised hair styles to suit you, the individual.  The hairdressers at Furr are highly skilled in precision hair cuts, both natural and vibrant hair colour, human hair extensions, synthetic hair extensions, braiding, dreadlocks, dread maintenance and dread extensions.  Furr also offer makeup and photographic services.
 

Please don't hesitate to contact us for  a free consultation. 


Services

  • Precision Hair Cuts
  • Vibrant and Natural Colours
  • Colour Correction
  • Platinum Blond Specialists
  • 100% Natural Hair Extensions
  • Make Up
  • Photography
  • Dreadlocks
  • Dread Extensions
  • Dread Maintenance

Hair Cuts

At Furr you can expect to receive a hair cut that has a strong shape, is designed to suit your style, hair type and face shape.  All of our stylists will give you a thorough consultation to determine your lifestyle, wants and desires, and give you suggestions and ideas for transforming or enhancing your look.  You will love how easy it is to style your hair and how well the cut grows out, in fact our clients are often omplemented on their hair the entire time between hair cuts!  Call Furr now on 9519 3343 to make an appointment for your next hair cut!

Hair Colour 

At Furr you will find creative stylists who will be able to tailor unique colouring to suit your style and tastes.  Nothing is too natural or too vibrant.  All hair colours are created with a strong commitment to the condition and quality of your hair and ensuring that colour techniques can be maintained over the long term without damaging your hair.  

The stylists at Furr are specialists in acheiving platinum blonde and performing colour correction services.

Please call the salon on 9519 3343 to arrange an appointment to have your hair coloured at Furr. 


Hair Extensions

Why wait to grow you hair long when you can have super natural glamourous hair extensions NOW?  The skillful stylists at Furr offer 100% Natural Human Hair Extensions using a fusion method which is safe for your hair and so natural looking and its a great way to grow your hair out without having to go through those painful in-between styles.  Our stylists have over 20 years experience in installing hair extensions and know what works.  You can expect the best quality hair and skillful application at very reasonable prices.

Please call the salon on 9519 3343 to arrange an appointment to have a free hair extensions consultation.


Opening Hours:  M: Closed  T: 11am - 7pm  W: 11am - 7pm  T: 11am - 9pm  F: 11am - 7pm  S: 10am - 6pm  S:   PHol:
Payment Methods:  Cash, Eftpos, Visa, Mastercard

Customer Reviews for Furr Hair, 25 reviews

1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (4/5)
8th November 2014 11:48 am
"Came in with hair that was in terrible condition, walked out with the best dye/cut that I've ever had. I felt as though they really cared about how my hair was going to not only look but whether or whether not it would be healthy. They go above and beyond when it comes to service. Will definitely be continuing to visit Furr in the future."
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
650 Points
 (4/5)
1st November 2014 7:43 pm
"All I can say is, I came in with one of the worst hair dyes that I've ever had (and I've had some bad ones) and walked out looking like a blonde bombshell. I'm going back to Furr for ever and ever. Thanks to everyone there for fixing me up as good as new! "
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
11th October 2014 12:14 pm
"The experience was immensely satisfying from root to tip. You're greeted at the door of what could be considered an art gallery, that just happened to cut hair as well.

The owner himself introduces himself to you, and invites you to take a seat on their luxurious couch (comes with a free dog pal while you wait).

Everyone working their seem to work in a cohesive unit, and the level of communication between all the staff is something I had yet to experience in hair salons. The staff are as close as if you'd stuck them together with hair spray.

After a short while, I am invited to be subject to the will of the owner who, unlike most seasoned business owners, insists on being 100% involved in his salon all day every day. A downright expert and genius in colour correction, engraving, cuts, colours, bleaching.

I described to him my plan for my hair, and the end result came out not as I expected, but much much better.

He even practically insisted I choose the blue for my colour instead of red, my original plan. And I'll tell you what, it was honestly the best decision I could have made. I feel right at home with this cut, and have never had that sense of alienation that comes with a new hair cut.

Furr individually caters the cut to your personality, I believe. "
 
2 Reviews
0 Compliments
800 Points
 (5/5)
1st October 2014 2:06 pm
"This was my first time at Furr and everyone was so helpful and welcoming, John really took the time to sit down with me and explain what was going on with my hair and how it could be fixed long term. No other hairdresser has ever been bothered to do this, they tend to just take your money and do whatever you ask, regardless of whether or not this will damage your hair and make your problems a lot worse. Every single staff member was so sweet and worked super hard! My colour could not be more perfect and my hair's in better condition than it's been in a long time~ After the amazing experience I had here, there's no way I'd go anywhere else! :) :) :)"
 

1 Reviews
10% Trust
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (4/5)
16th September 2014 12:21 am
"John is the only person I feel comfortable having cut my hair. He turned my dying, snapping thin hair into thick, manageable, pretty hair that gets lots of compliments.

I've had bleaching done in the past to high quality. The rumours are definitely true, Furr can give you white hair that is still healthy and strong. They understand hair and it shows.

I had a couple of minuses each time. My conditioner wasn't all washed out on a couple of occasions so I left with what looked like quite greasy hair. It didn't take away from the quality of the job but it was a little annoying.

The other little minus was the massage at the basin. I had my hair pulled and tugged and the technique of the apprentice was at best, average.

Again, this I'm no way makes me feel untoward to Furr and their amazing skills, however it's nice to have a relaxing head massage and little details make a big difference to an experience.

The icing on the cake has to be the little white puppy (who's name escapes me) who can be spotted scampering around the salon. A little furry friend gives the place a special vibe.

John is definitely the ONLY person I've had my hair cut by who I'd recommend to others. Also, John will look at your hair properly and recommend the best course if action to achieve the desired finish.

He cuts my hair, and cuts lots off and somehow it ends up feeling longer and thicker. That is some kind of magic!"
 
1 Reviews
1 Compliments
450 Points
 (5/5)
21st August 2014 11:59 pm
"I love getting my hair done at Furr! They're awesome at what they do and make you feel great about your hair. My best friend has been going there for years and knew I was wanting a new look and recommended John at Furr. I went and got my hair cut and coloured with manic panic colours raven black, vampire red and psychedelic sunset orange long layers.

First the cut, my hair had been badly treated by me so I asked John to take off a fair length but still leave it long enough so could tie it back for work, also I got it layered. Then it was onto the colour, of course they had to bleach first which always makes my scalp a little tender, but when they wash it out it feels really good because they make sure to massage it, it always makes me want to fall asleep its that good! I'd discussed the colours with John while he cut it, but he made sure he knew exactly what I wanted and added a suggestion of his own of colouring the roots red where I wanted the orange vale on top, which I agreed with, before telling the girl doing the colours what to do; I know from experience the Manic panic colours are great and stay in well. The girl took great care in making sure I got the colour layers where I wanted them, black for the bottom half of my head [no bleach needed there], red for the top with a thin layer of orange with red roots on either side of my natural part, some waiting for the colours to set then back to the basin for another massage/wash, blow-dry and comb, then John comes back to check and trim my ends and making sure I'm happy with the result; I wasn't, I was ecstatic it turned out even better then I had imagined I would recommend them to anyone, especially if your after a fresh new look that will just make you feel great about yourself! Not five minutes after leaving the shop I had a complete stranger stop and tell me they loved my hair, I told them "so do I!" and let them know I got it done at Furr."

By pratsap - 100% Trust 22nd August 2014 10:48 am

"too long"

By Business Owner 26th August 2014 1:23 pm

"Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience Charmaine! I'm so happy to hear that you are loving your hair and will be sure to share your feedback with John and our team. Regards, Kylie @ Furr"

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
450 Points
 (5/5)
5th July 2014 1:52 pm
"I came to furr to get my hair bleached for the very first time ever and I could not be happier and more comfortable getting my hair done here. My hair feels great and it's made me really love and embrace the experience of going blonde. Seeing as there's so many horror stories about doing it. I loved my natural hair and how it felt and I'm so glad I didn't have to sacrifice that for a change. Wouldn't go anywhere else :)"
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
29th June 2014 11:23 am
"John and Kylie & the team are experts in what they do. They took care of me and my hair from the moment I walked in to get a consultation.

It was actually a coincidence that I walked into Furr. I was sent from another hair salon, who obviously had no idea how to bleach a whole head of hair let alone dark asian hair. And this was my main concern: getting my medium-length-dark-asian hair to a blonde that was not orange or would break. I was promised by the other salon that I would definitely get breakage and this was a already a sign of unprofessionalism.

If you want your hair cut, bleached and dyed a colour beyond colours you can imagine, I 100% recommend Furr. They'll take care of you and your hair and it won't cost you an arm and a leg and your whole head of hair falling off.

However, with the Furr team

"
 

3 Reviews
60% Trust
1 Compliments
800 Points
 (5/5)
25th October 2013 6:50 am
"Overall, a good experience. Had to wait a little longer than I was expecting, but price is very good and staff very friendly. Yes, I would go back"
 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
400 Points
 (5/5)
14th August 2013 7:03 pm
"I have been having my hair done by this fantastic salon for a few years now cannot recommend them enough I really suggest going in for a consult and great experience "

By Business Owner 15th August 2013 3:03 pm

"Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience Jess! We love doing your hair, you totally rock it! Regards, Kylie"

 
1 Reviews
2 Compliments
610 Points
 (5/5)
25th June 2013 9:54 pm
"Best experience i have ever had at a salon, easy to trust as they are very professional and experienced. Lovely, easy people to talk to, and one of the best if not the best hair job you will ever have. I got a hair cut, complete bleach job and Manic Panic application, was there for 3 hours which wasnt i boring as i thought! The only place to go is Furr if you want an alternative hairstyle, wouldnt suggest anywhere else."

By Business Owner 26th June 2013 12:44 pm

"Thank you so much for your lovely words Sophie! We love our work and are always inspired by our amazing clients :) Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, regards Kylie @ Furr."

 
1 Reviews
1 Compliments
605 Points
 (5/5)
27th May 2013 8:38 pm
"A lot of people i know keep getting their hair cut or getting a dye at different new places each time they do so. Dont even know the name of whoever will cut or dye their hair when they go... I understand them but then again i dont. I've been going to Furr for some 6-7( i forget) years. Everyone i know who goes there is the same. You just don't imagine going to anyone else after going to Furr. I've even seen customers who have moved over state come and 'visit' them as part of their Sydney visiting schedule. If Kylie and John have to go away somewhere for a bit they usually send a message to all their customers informing them of the dates well in advance. The predictable phone calls and panic bookings follow. Its kinda funny.

Oh yeah, and they have a dog called Pookie who everyone loves.

They are alternative and not for the masses. The masses are happy with average. Furr is precision and positive energy that happens to be electric pink.

Christian"

By Business Owner 29th May 2013 12:00 pm

"Hi Christian, thank you so much for the amazing review - I love love love every word! I can't wait to share your words with our team - our clients are always our inspiration and it is people like you who make every day rewarding! Thank you!! Kylie"

By toyboy - 100% Trust 13th October 2013 10:59 am

"Love your review will be letting my wife know to visit next time we are in the area thankyou"

 
1 Reviews
3 Compliments
415 Points
 (5/5)
30th November 2012 7:39 am
"Here's the thing about Furr: they're amazing at what they do. They might not be everyone's cup of tea, but John + Kylie are undoubtedly hair-extraordinaires. Whether you want your hair bleached to snow white, or an all-over crazy colour, they can help you achieve it.

Although it's been a while since I've visited Furr, I have struggled to find a hairdresser who is more attentive and skilled with the scissors than John. "

By davids31 - 90% Trust 30th November 2012 5:03 pm

"thanks"

By Iloveshopping - 80% Trust 17th April 2013 9:31 am

"good to know !! "

By Business Owner 29th May 2013 12:11 pm

"Hey Keiral1 Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and write a review about Furr! We always love to hear about our client's experiences especially regarding what we are doing well. As you know we are really passionate about cutting hair and colouring hair and love that people always remember a good hair cut! On that note, sometimes people think that they have to have a wild hair colour to come here, which isn't true. So please don't struggle to find a hairdresser - you are welcome anytime! I hope to see you sometime soon, Kylie"

 
122 Reviews
127 Compliments
23,685 Points
 (5/5)
12th September 2012 5:20 pm
"It is one of the salons I go often. I went there to color my hair and do hair cut and other hair care. I looked smart after walked out from the salon every time. Try Fur Hair Newtown next time if you are seeking good service and professional hairdresser."

By darrenn2 - 100% Trust 23rd June 2013 9:25 am

"A great place to go in Newtown."

 
1 Reviews
0 Compliments
600 Points
 (5/5)
26th June 2012 10:18 am
"Fantastic. Excellent cutting and great colour every time. The price is right for the quality of the job AND you don't have to be a 'young thing' (I'm in the 50+ category). I'm always especially pleased with the cut I receive. "

By lisant - 100% Trust 29th January 2013 12:45 pm

"It's good to know they cater for people who don't want to look too extreme."

 
23 Reviews
1 Compliments
220 Points
 (5/5)
25th November 2011 2:40 pm
"Awesome staff with great and friendly service. Good prices for their services and comfy arrangements. Funky stylists and awesome haircuts"
 
20 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
6th September 2011 8:37 pm
"I've been there many times and they're all amazing hair stylists and great people. i always have a great time when I'm there. A bit expensive but i feel at ease going to a place that i know will take care of me. they're worth the money. "
 
38 Reviews
2 Compliments
210 Points
 (5/5)
27th July 2011 10:13 am
"Very helpful, friendly, etc. High recommend. They were affordable and helpful and made me look a million bucks"
 
43 Reviews
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
14th July 2011 3:59 pm
"I love this salon because it let me look younger and attractive. The service there is wonderful and price is also reasonable. highly recommended."
 
3 Reviews
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
13th June 2011 4:16 pm
"LOVE this salon!! Always a good vibe when you walk in - fierce cuts that never disappoint, even when I don't know what I want! :) When you go to Furr you're paying for quality all round!!"
 
You can telephone Furr Hair on 02 9519 3343
This business has 25 reviews. Click below to show the next page.

1   2   Next