Home Services > Melbourne Metro > Richmond > Aussie Farmers Direct

Aussie Farmers Direct

Bldg 10, Level 3, 658 Church St
Richmond, VIC 3121

Customer Reviews for Aussie Farmers Direct, 91 reviews

24 Reviews
3 Compliments
2,135 Points
 (4/5)
14th July 2012 1:08 pm
"I have been receiving deliveries on a Mon, Wed and Thu for a cople of years now and am very happy withthe products and service. My local milkman is super nice and friendly."
 
62 Reviews
26 Compliments
5,560 Points
 (2/5)
13th July 2012 10:27 pm
"I got a couple of fruit and vegetable deliveries, and while the convenience was great, I didn't like what I was getting in it so cancelled my orders. I still get emails every week though and they call every couple of weeks despite me saying I'm no longer interested. I couldn't really make sense of the recipes they included in the box - it never had any of the items that I had gotten that week in them as you would expect."

By Aubrey25 - 100% Trust 18th February 2013 3:55 pm

"useful review, thank you for sharing!"

 
50 Reviews
7 Compliments
5,205 Points
 (5/5)
16th June 2012 12:48 am
"Great service, we get milk twice a week, as it is delivered in the morning a cool bag is given so its still cold when you go out and get it, also available, bread meat and fruit boxes which you can get a mix or choose what goes in it"

By SurveyDan - 100% Trust 13th July 2012 7:54 am

"How much does it cost?"

 
109 Reviews
103 Compliments
13,985 Points
 (4/5)
12th June 2012 1:49 pm
"I order bread and milk from Aussie Farmers as I like to think the proceeds of the produce goes directly back to the farms rather than the greedy supermarkets like Coles and Woolworths. They also sell fruit and vegetables, other dairy produce and some meat. I prefer to buy fruit and meat myself so I can see what it looks like, however for convenience the bread and milk are great."
 
173 Reviews
35 Compliments
15,895 Points
 (4/5)
31st May 2012 12:48 pm
"Aussie farmers service was fantastic. The staff really were lovely but over time the quality/size of my fruit and veg kept getting smaller and smaller so I stopped ordering with them. The beef and mushroom pie is mouth watering and the raisin bread is really nice too although it was better when it was spicy. "
 
13 Reviews
3 Compliments
1,815 Points
 (3/5)
16th May 2012 2:59 pm
"Convenient delivery service for lots of basic items eg milk, bread, cheese etc as well as some prepared meals, fruit & veg and meat.

I've found the meat to be reasonable quality. I tried the fruit and veg a few times but was disappointed in the quality of produce (also no option to list likes/dislikes that some other services offer).

I like the idea of supporting farmers rather than the supermarket chains so have continued ordering milk + a few other items eg tasty cheese that I have been happy with."
 
122 Reviews
52 Compliments
6,985 Points
 (3/5)
15th May 2012 8:05 am
"I have used this company in the past but don't any more. Its a very convenient idea but I prefer to shop for my own fresh produce where I can select my own items and know what I'm getting. Would only recommend this business to people who either don't have time to shop or that don't like to shop."
 
650 Reviews
162 Compliments
63,190 Points
 (4/5)
11th May 2012 11:53 am
"I have been a customer of Aussie Farmers for approx. 1 year. They deliver yummy fresh product including:- Fruit, vegies, milk, bread, yoghurt, bread, meat and lots more.

They also offer our school a small percentage of the profit from the people who nominate their school."

By feigyg - 100% Trust 5th April 2013 11:51 pm

"Glad to hear you enjoy this service I hve been considering using this myself at some point. Good to know they are a good company"

 
140 Reviews
29 Compliments
5,915 Points
 (5/5)
6th May 2012 3:33 pm
"i love to support small businesses, and the farmers behind them. freshest possibly meats and dairy products, and competitive pricing. "
 
388 Reviews
78 Compliments
23,465 Points
 (5/5)
6th May 2012 3:20 pm
"Been using this service for months now. The delivery is always on time, and the freshness and quality of produce is excellent, especially for price. Its good to support real farmers also."
 
3 Reviews
0 Compliments
700 Points
 (4/5)
26th April 2012 8:21 pm
"Fruit, vegetables, bread, meat and milk delivery. Products are always of good quality though more expensive than at supermarkets in most cases. Happy to be receiving produce grown only in Australia."
 
20 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
3rd April 2012 4:24 am
"I like it be cause it comes to your door every week the fruit is fresh the kids love the size of the apples the price isant to bad it could be better coming from the farmer dirtict"
 
3 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (4/5)
11th March 2012 4:57 pm
"We use Aussie Farmers for all of our milk, egg and meat deliveries and find them great. I think the prices could be a bit better considering products are direct from Australian farmers, however, at least we can trust the source of the products and we know that the quality will always be great. Their pies and fresh pasta are also really good, but I would not try the ready-made meals again as they were in small, expensive portions, and didn't taste all that great. Otherwise, everything is great."
 
7 Reviews
1 Compliments
415 Points
 (2/5)
21st February 2012 12:58 am
"I had 2 fruit & vegie deliveries from Aussie Farmers Direct & I was dissapointed by the quality of some of the fruit. Out of a whole bag of oranges, only 2 were orange, the rest a murky green which I sat on the window hoping they would improve to the point of becoming edible. I ended up having to throw them out, along with the bananas and a few other items. I have since cancelled my orders & back to the fruit shop where I can pick my own.I called AFD & they were refunding me. Besides this problem, the website was not user friendly, waiting times on the phone were long, and invoices were due a week later rather then when it was delivered. I am hoping to find a fresher alternative, maybe a home grown market in Melbourne somewhere, as I rent I cant plant my own trees."
 
4 Reviews
1 Compliments
205 Points
 (2/5)
23rd December 2011 8:23 am
"We have been on and off with Aussie Farmers for years. To start with we would have items missing from order with no explanation, then get billed for them, yes the customer service rep would fix, but most times her attempt at fixing wouldn't reflect the $$ taken out for orders. We had received a couple of orders at 10am after I had left for the day all the milk, butter etc was ruined by the time I got home. the latest, is the meats are lacking in quality. This didnt start that way, they WERE great. Now if you order a pack of 2 steaks, you get one tiny and one large. not good if Im making Dinner for my husband and I. The useby dates on the meats also are VERY short. 2-3 days for some. I get better dates at the butcher and supermarket.

I have noticed however with my credit card currently being replaced due to (not connected) suspect activity, they have been calling every second day for payment even though they are fully aware of the issue. Slow in paying? they are fully on top of that one, just the food, yeah, not so important ugh."
 
36 Reviews
0 Compliments
200 Points
 (5/5)
6th December 2011 10:00 pm
"Great quality food love not having to go to the shops for basics like milk bread fruit and veg. "
 
19 Reviews
0 Compliments
0 Points
 (5/5)
14th November 2011 10:46 am
"I have used Aussie Farmers in the delivery of fresh produce and dairy and they are a little dearer than most but their products are of a high standard and they are Aussie owned which is important."
 
68 Reviews
33 Compliments
3,280 Points
 (3/5)
31st October 2011 2:58 pm
"I was surprised to see that @Ruthie from Pascoe Vale South had problems with delivery not being early enough. I live just down the road in Coburg, so it's possible we have the same driver, and my delivery always arrives in the wee small hours. I don't think it has ever been later than 6am, and often it's as early as 3:30am. I agree, @Ruthie, 9am is ridiculous and you had every right to complain, especially when the Aussie Farmers website promises it will be there before 7am.

I'm certainly not going to be out there at 3:30am bringing the bag in, so on warm nights, or even just mild nights, I put several ice bricks in the bag, to ensure the contents are kept cold. I've never had a problem with the food spoiling or animals getting to it.

I tried setting up a regular order for a while, but my needs were too variable, so these days I just submit a one-off order once a week or so. Despite this variability, the milkman has never failed to deliver exactly what I've ordered, except on one occasion a few weeks ago when he didn't turn up at all. I was straight on the phone the next morning to Aussie Farmers, who apologised and promptly refunded the money back into my account while I was still on the phone. They didn't know why the delivery didn't arrive, but their best guess was that the regular driver was sick and his replacement made a mistake.

Regarding the quality of the produce: the milk, butter and free-range eggs are all fine. No complaints whatsoever. It would be nice if the Greek-style plain yoghurt came in a size smaller than 500g, as the flavoured yoghurts do, but that's a minor quibble. It would be even nicer if the cream and yoghurt had longer use-by dates on them - they can vary quite a bit, and sometimes they are shorter than I had hoped for. And I occasionally order marinated prawns, which are fine, if a bit pricey.

Some of the other products I'm not so crazy about, although your mileage may vary. I've tried several breads, including the "gourmet" ones, and they're just ordinary. I can get far better ones at my local bakery. The sweet bagels don't taste like authentic boiled bagels to me, despite the fact that they're made by Glicks; they lack the chewiness that a bagel is supposed to have, and are more like a soft sweet bun with a hole in the middle.

And the meat pies I ordered were seriously awful, with big lumps of fat and gristle. Yuk. Never ordering those again. (The apple pie is fine, though.) I see that Aussie Farmers have added lasagnes to their range of products, and I'm interested, but after experiencing the horrible meat pies, I'm wary. I'd be interested to know what other customers think of the lasagnes.

I can't comment on their fruit and veg as I've never tried them.

Overall, I can highly recommend this service for convenience, for reliability (although perhaps that depends on which suburb you live in), for the helpfulness of the people on the other end of the phone, and for the quality of its milk, butter, and eggs. I've marked the Quality score down a little because some of the other products were disappointing. But if you want the convenience of home-delivered produce, and you'd like to help farmers and to make a dent in the profits of the Big Two supermarkets at the same time, I can recommend this service."

By janeb9 - 100% Trust 1st November 2011 11:06 pm

"Yes i am in total agreeance with this feedback, where Aussie Farmers deliver in the wee early hours of the morning, I ordered some milk, cheese and apple pies and my order arrived at 2.30am which is a ridicoulus time to be delivering it more like very late at night for delivery rather than early morning. Only unlike the other comment where there items werent eaten. I wasnt so lucky, so creature ate half of the apple pie with the gladwrap also. I rang Farmers Direct and they refunded my money. I have returned once since, but im not in any rush to return to them."

By Bonnie2 - 100% Trust 2nd November 2011 12:28 am

"@janeb9, I don't consider 2:30am a necessarily ridiculous delivery time, unless you live in the tropical north, nor is the scavenging animal problem guaranteed to be prevented by a later delivery time. Would it not be possible to use an animal-proof container rather than the Aussie Farmers bag - say an esky with the lid locked into place - with a note on top to let the milkman know to put the delivery inside it? When I wrote my review above, I didn't mean to imply I was unhappy with Aussie Farmers' early delivery. It doesn't bother me at all. Ice bricks keep the contents cold, and if I ever had a problem with scavenging animals, I'd simply switch to an esky. I mentioned the early delivery time only because it was such a contrast to @Ruthie's delivery time, and she lives very near me."

By tomboy64 - 50% Trust 27th January 2012 2:03 pm

"no - have to agree completely. tried them once and the bread and stuff were delivered somewhere near 3am waking everyone in the house. have not gone back to them. prefer to wake up early (but not that early) and walk down to the bakers"

 
5 Reviews
1 Compliments
200 Points
 (2/5)
11th September 2011 11:30 am
"the quality of the food was good however i asked for goods to be delivered by 8am as I needed the bread for school lunches. Several times my order was delivered after 9am. Every time I complained the customs service consultant was lovely and apologetic and I would receive additional products as a gesture of goodwill, this was lovely however the delivery times just werent consitent enough and left me high and dry on a number of occassions. In the end I cancelled my delivery service. I dont live out of the way either, I live in Pascoe Vale South so there is no reason for consistent delays. "
 
34 Reviews
1 Compliments
205 Points
 (4/5)
23rd July 2011 4:19 pm
"I love getting fresh milk and bread delivered straight to the door. Fruit and beg is always fresh and great value for money."
 
You can telephone Aussie Farmers Direct on 1300 645 562
This business has 91 reviews. Click below to show the next page.

Previous   1   2   3   4   5   Next